gcc on uml?

Help
vacha
2006-10-22
2013-06-03
  • vacha

vacha - 2006-10-22

Hi

I am a newbie to uml. I got uml(kernel2.6.17.13 with patch and port helper) up and running, but I cant seem to be able to do much with it.

How do I get gcc to run on user mode linux?

I read somewhere that one can download tgz packages from slackware for binutils and gcc, and then install them using installpkg. I tried mounting the hostfs and doing installpkg but bash does not recognise that commaned.

please help.
    vacha

• ptb

ptb - 2006-10-22

Unfortunately, your question doesn't really make sense as stated, so I'll have to assume you meant to say something else ... maybe, how do you INSTALL gcc on a UML instance?

Well, the same way you install on anything. UML is just a kernel. You set up the rest of the operating system as normal. If you want to run a debian or slackware or RH installation on top of the UML kernel, you do that. Maybe you should tell us what stage of installation of your UML-based system you are at?

Have you gone through the instructions in the README, or elsewhere? I seem to remember that there were some HOWTOs and FAQs around.

Maybe your question is directed at setting up a minimal system to for your UML kernel to boot you into? But surely you would have said something else ... so I'll assume you have a minimal UML-based system up and running. So what is it? Debian? RH? Slack? Whatever it is, use that distro's package installation method.

Really, you need to tell us more about where you are at the present moment, so people can guess what you may be seeing and reacting to.

• vacha

vacha - 2006-10-23

sorry. I guess I need to be more specific.

I took a linux-2.6.17.13 kernel from kernel.org, applied the uml patch to it, compiled the kernel with um options. I compiled the port helper and put its binary in the required path.The kernel was up and running.

Now, I need to get gcc running on that kernel. I tried mounting the host and appended the host path