Menu

TinyTM - OmegaT

mstirner
2008-06-05
2013-04-24
  • mstirner

mstirner - 2008-06-05

I was rather pleased to encounter your website, and as a freelance translator, I certainly concur with your specifications:

- Provide translation agencies, freelance translators and other translation organizations with free and standardized translation memory tools.

- Spread the use of TMs and workflows to new areas such as content management and helpdesk applications

The translation memory market is characterised by offline, single-user proprietary systems, which are expensive to deploy and all suffer from single-vendor lockin. The common TMX-format is not really supported, which prevents a breakthrough for free software systems such as OmegaT.

In the light of recent developments such as online repositories of translations being públished for all free software projects, combined with the availability of online terminology issued by the EU, the implementation of a server-based translation memory system would be a fantastic opening for the translation industry.

With OmegaT, there is already a working free software client that could be used with open office, which itself permits excellent file conversion to MS word. I would be immensely interested in contributing to the development of such a system. For MS word, there are already a few freely available clients (NOT free software).

In the light of all the above, why on earth base it on VBA/MS-Word?

• Frank Bergmann

Frank Bergmann - 2008-06-12

Hi Idpnd,

> In the light of all the above, why on earth base it on VBA/MS-Word? 

Good questions, but I think I've got a pretty good answer as well:

TinyTM is _not_based_ on MS-Word. TinyTM is based on a client-server structure. Our MS-Word client makes a lot of sense in this context, because it was the fastest way to write a first "client" (translation environment). And MS-Word is still the #1 translation tool for 80%-90% of translators. Only a few "niche"-translators use OmegaT.