Path for TeX Live in TXS (Fedora Linux)

TXS - Help
André
2014-09-09
2014-09-23
  • André

André - 2014-09-09

Hello,

I'm new in Linux and try out Fedora. There I have installed TeX Live via internet. After that I installed TeXstudio with package manager in Fedora. Now the TeX Live distribution is not found. (There is a long discussion to find out, what the problem is: http://www.mrunix.de/forums/showthread.php?76508-TeX-Live-Umgebungsvariablen-(Fedora-Linux) <- the link isn't correct shown, because the rest in brackets is part of the link)

Now my question is, how a can say TeXstudio where the correct TeX Live distribution can be found (under /usr/local/texlive/2014/bin/x86_64-linux).

Thanks for help,
    André

• Tim Hoffmann

Tim Hoffmann - 2014-09-09

TeXstudio is only an editor it doesn't look for a distribution. The only thing we need to know is the location of the compiler (latex/pdflatex/xelatex binary depending on which you use). This is configured at Options -> Commands.

The compiler cares about finding the packages. You should try running it from the command line. If it has the same problems there, it's a general TeX configuration issue and not editor-related. TeX-forums like http://tex.stackexchange.com/ will provide better help for these kinds of questions.

If LaTeX works from the command line, but not from the editor, you can come back here.

• André

André - 2014-09-10

Thanks for the answer.

You wrote:

If LaTeX works from the command line, but not from the editor, you can come back here.

Exactly that is the case. LaTeX works fine from the command line. But in TXS there were no packages found. I haven't enough experience to find out what the problem is.

The discussion on mrunix.de (see my first post) offers that TXS try to use a developer version (TeX Live 2014/dev) and there are no correct pathes found ...

• Jan  Sundermeyer

Jan Sundermeyer - 2014-09-10

Then correct the found paths by hand in Options/commands