Menu

A question about the legalities of Taksi

2010-06-24
2013-06-03
  • Nobody/Anonymous

My question is, is Taksi legal in it's use of codecs? I mean it uses codecs like DivX, MP4, etc.

• Nobody/Anonymous

I cant give legal advise. The law is way to complex, contradicting and illogical for me.
    in general i have assumed that if there is a dll on your system that uses published api's then it is legal to make calls to that api. so as long as the dll is legally loaded on your machine. i.e. it was supplied with your operating system. I dont see any reason you cant use it. but i'm no lawyer. there are lots of laws that defy the obvious assumption.
    Also If some codec came packaged with its own legal agreement and you agreed to it then it would apply to how you might use it.
    What you record and how you distribute it is yet another matter.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Do you know anybody that could help with this?

• Nobody/Anonymous

my suggestion is find the maker of the codec you are worried about and contact them directly. If they say its illegal to use a published API. I'd love to know why they would use a public and published API in the first place.

• Nobody/Anonymous

Media coder uses published APIs, as dose virtual dub both free were.

• Nobody/Anonymous

May I ask what you mean by "published APIs"?

• Nobody/Anonymous

a DirectShow Filter plugin or the older Video For Windows codec plugin. Both are standard API's published by microsoft. IF you didnt want others to use your codec you would just use some made up api or at least not register it with the OS.

• Nobody/Anonymous

So using a DirectShow Filter plugin or a VFW codec plugin is legal?

• Nobody/Anonymous

you're thinking of 'what you copy', not 'how you encode it'

for example, divx or avi compression of a tv show you don't own, yeah they shoot at you