Stellarium Scripting - Starting with a Key Press

Feedback
Anonymous
2013-12-02
2013-12-04
  • Anonymous - 2013-12-02

I'm trying to develop a script to give a planetarium presentation soon.
    I wanted to start the presentation by hitting (for example) the <SPACE> key, but I can't find the slot to use for this. I have looked at the forum here, but have not found anything.
    Any suggestions?

Also, scripting does not seem to be repeatable, although I have "set up" code at the front of the script, including "core.clear("natural");" and a time setting. I find the constellation lines seem to behave inconsistently.
    How do I ensure the system always starts with exactly the same set up?

I am a Stellarium scripting novice, but have some programming knowledge!
    robin0846@gmail.com

• Bogdan Marinov

Bogdan Marinov - 2013-12-02

You can assign a key to start a script, but for now you need to edit manually the configuration file to do this - there's no GUI.

Find and open the shortcuts.json file in the /data sub-directory of your user data directory (location varies on different OS).

Within the file, look for the "scriptLandscapes" key in the "scripts" section for an example of defining a script file as assignable to a key. You can probably just replace the name and the values of "text" and "scriptFile" with whatever values you need - after that, you'll be able to change the assigned key with the shortcuts editor GUI from within Stellarium.

If you have problems dealing with JSON files, ask. :)

As for the repeatability, it's a problem - there are a lot of properties that can be changed and keeping track of them is hard. I'm not one of the scripting experts, but I may be able to help. What exactly is the problem with constellation/asterism lines?

• Anonymous - 2013-12-03

Bogdan, Thanks for the pointer to JSON, I'll follow this up.

The Constellation lines are controlled within the script using:
    ConstellationMgr.setFlagLines(true);