Menu

How to install/configure

Help
2015-09-21
2015-11-23
  • Syed Samsul Arefin

Hello,
    I'm a grad student. I will have to use this Model Inference Tool for my research in specification mining and model based testing. I am wondering if I can get any documentation regarding how to use this tool. Thank you.

• Kirill Bogdanov

Kirill Bogdanov - 2015-10-06

Syed,

The main repository has now moved to Github,
    https://github.com/kirilluk/statechum

I have now written a brief manual that describes how to install and use the tool. After you clone the repository from GitHut, the manual can be found in resources/introduction/index.html

• Syed Samsul Arefin

Kiril,
    Thank you very much for that manual.
    I installed it. It is working on your sample trace file. Some of your trace file contains state machine (in text format) and a part of the statechum visualizes it. Now I have a couple questions.
    1. I have a java project. I would like to generate FSM using statechum. I guess it generates traces from the java source code or the execution. And from the trace it generates state machine. I couldn't figure it out how do I generate trace. Do I need to write code to generate it based on statechum framework or is there any sample class or GUI or command to do that? It would be better for quick learners if you kindly show how to do this.
    2. Does statechum generate state machine for C and Assembly programes as well?

Thank you.

Last edit: Syed Samsul Arefin 2015-11-13
  • Kirill Bogdanov

Kirill Bogdanov - 2015-11-13

Syed,

We did some work on generation of FSM from the Java source code based on symbolic execution using Java Pathfinder,

N. Walkinshaw, K. Bogdanov, M. Holcombe
    Identifying State Transitions and their Functions in Source Code
    1st IEEE Testing Academia & Industrial Conference (TAIC PART'06),
    Windsor, UK, August, 2006