extracting readings

2005-05-04
2013-04-18
  • Nobody/Anonymous

I am new to staden and was wondering how, after finishing all of the editing and verification of a contig, I can get out all of the individual reads. I basically want to put them into fasta format and analyze this alignment in other programs. I would like, but do not need the chromatograms. I notice that the extract readings option is not available under the "file" in gap4. Can anyone offer me some advice?

• James Bonfield

James Bonfield - 2005-05-09

Maybe it's only available in the expert mode (see Options -> Configure menus). Extract readings though doesn't really do what you want. It purely outputs the sequences as individual experiment files (close enough to EMBL format to work for many tools), but I'm guessing you want to use gap4 as a multiple alignment tool and actually gap sequences from base zero of the contig?

That's not something available in the existing user interface (although it could be scripted if you wish to delve into Tcl).

James

• Nobody/Anonymous

Thanks for the input. I have actually just found a solution that works well for me. Once I have edited the contig to my satisfaction and I have all of the sequences I want in my "alignment" I simply go to "File>Save Consensus" and save this in fasta format. This gives just what I need (minus the chromoatograms, but I am finished editing at this point so all is well with the world). Hopefully this might be of help to others as well!

• Andrew Warry

Andrew Warry - 2005-05-13

Hi

Just an extra thought: It is actually relatively simple to convert a contig dump text file (Gap4 contig editor window: Commands>>> Dump Contig to File) to an ordinary multiple sequence alignment e.g fasta/msf etc. I wrote a Perl script to do this a while ago
      (perhaps a Dump to MSF option could be added sometime in the future?)

ANDREW

• James Bonfield

James Bonfield - 2005-05-17