Creating databases and running GAP4 from command-line?

Jake
2014-01-24
2014-01-27
  • Jake

Jake - 2014-01-24

Hi, I am new to using the Staden package but have had success using pregap4 and gap4 GUIs to assist in sequencing experiments. In fact, the package is so useful that I want to incorporate my pregap4/gap4 steps into an pipeline that is run from the command line.

I have been able to use pregap4 with several parameters in order to mirror my GUI usage with identical results. My command is as follows: pregap4 -nowin -config pregap4.config -- sample.contigs

However, now I want to do the same with gap4. Thus far I am only able to do something like: gap4 -maxseq 100000 -maxdb 80000 database_name.0

This then opens the gap4 GUI and wants me to select the rest of my parameters from there, but this breaks my CLI-only pipelines. Can someone please assist me in creating the correct command to run gap4 with my necessary parameters? Here is what I want:

• Create a new database with name: "Sample"
    • Choose consensus algorithm: "Base frequencies"
    • Conduct: "Normal shotgun assembly" with the following specifications:
      • Input reading filenames from file: "pregap.passed"
      • Save failures to: "fails_temp.txt"
    • Once the assembly is finished, I'd like to save the consensus assembly as "Sample_consensus"

These parameters are trivial to input when using the GUI, but I can't figure out a way to do the same as a batch job on the command line. Any help is much appreciated!

• James Bonfield

James Bonfield - 2014-01-27

Hello,

Pregap4 has some rudimentary abilities to create databases and perform shotgun assembly, although to be frank Gap4's assembler isn't particularly good even on old style capillary data compared to, say, Phrap. (Where it won out was the ability to incrementally add new data to an existing on-going project.)