Menu

Is snapRAID flexible/smart enough to take advantage of extra space in the parity drive?

Help
Borg
2018-07-10
2018-07-12
  • Borg

Borg - 2018-07-10

So, I'm new to snapRAID.
    Still don't have it installed but I'm planning on using it on a new JBOD system.
    The thing is, I have one 6TB HD, several 4TB drives but most are 3TB.

Will I be able to take full advantage of my drives and what is the best way of doing this?
    What I'm thinking is, if I put the 6TB drive and only use 3TB drives as data drives, would the 6TB be able to keep double parity and protect against the failure of two 3TB drives? (Obvious if one of the drives to fail was that 6TB one, any other that fails at the same time is lost and I'm aware of that. Just trying to understand the fully functionality to decide how to best use my current resources).

I've read the manual but there is no mention of these types of scenarios.
    Would this be decided by defining two parity files on the same drive on the configuration file?

What about mixing the 4TB drives in it?
    A 4TB drive will not be able to hold 2 full parity files for 3TB drives but three 4TB drives would be able to hold parity for four 3TB drives. Can snapRAID break parity files into multiple pieces into multiple drives or does it require that a parity file be in a single continuous file on a single drive?

Thanks and sorry if this is answered somewhere but I wasn't able to find it

• Andrea Mazzoleni

Hi Borg,

SnapRAID doesn't allow to put more than one parity on a single disk. It refuses to start. Any extra space will be unused.

This is done for the recovery reason you mentioned, but also for performance.

You can instead split one parity in multiple disks.

Ciao,
    Andrea

• Borg

Borg - 2018-07-10

So I can have the parity of a 6TB drive into two 3TB drives?