Found errors during Scrub - multiple fix needed, file corrupt

Help
therealjmc
2023-09-14
2023-10-10
  • therealjmc

therealjmc - 2023-09-14

Hi,

I've been using snapraid for several years and on a new build I've encountered a strange behaviour:

• Running scrub errors were detected in multiple Files I have CRC Checksums of
    • Running the fix Command errors were recovered, CRC for 2 of the files didn't match
    • Running the same fix command both files were fixed again, CRC for 1 of the 2 files didn't match
    • Running fix again won't start to fix again, nothing to do.
    • Deleted the file and ran fix missing - file was recovered, CRC does not match

Since I had the files on hand on the other hardware I decided to just copy the file over again. 2 Weeks later roughly the same files were damaged during a scrub (I still have to figure out why, it's an SSD drivepool used for Image-Backups) and the same behaviour: 2 runs of fix needed, same 2 files were fixed in the 2nd run, same file did not CRC Match after the 2nd run.

I don't get it? What am I doing wrong?

Edit: After the first error and copying the file over I did a 100% scrub that went smoothly without any errors. So snapraid should have the right hashes for the files? I'm using 2 data and 2 parity and since it's image-backups it's rather static without any changes (diff shows 0 changes)

Edit2:
    I've deleted the CRC-Error File and recovered it, it will recover with the wrong CRC?! Copying the correct file and syncing does not change that behaviour

Last edit: therealjmc 2023-09-14
  • rubylaser

rubylaser - 2023-09-19

Since this is a new build, have you run a memtest on the RAM to confirm that it's working properly? Faulty memory can cause all sorts of errors like these.

• therealjmc

therealjmc - 2023-10-08