When a story is edited to change sections after publication,
the old .shtml file which was written (which is
section-specific) is not deleted. Although the extra .shtml
file won't show up in a search, it is still available for
external users to request, if they know the URL - and they
are getting an old, un-updated story, without current
Fix: when a story which has already had an .shtml file
written is edited to change sections, the old .shtml file
should be deleted when a new one is written, and Slash's
URL-foo should make sure that requests for the old URL
get redirected to the proper new URL.
Credit for finding this one goes to Simoniker. :)
Log in to post a comment.