Synchronizing archives with directories

Help
J44xm
2004-11-30
2012-12-07
  • J44xm
    J44xm
    2004-11-30

I'm new to 7-Zip, but like what I see -- so much, in fact, that I uninstalled WinRAR! Now, I'm trying to figure this one out:

I use the command-line interface to back up certain directories. I can add new files to the archive and update existing files, but I'm not sure how to delete files within the archive that are no longer present in the source directory.

Essentially, I want a command to sychronize .7z archives with source directories. Right now, I just use my batch files to delete the existing archives and create new ones, but if there's a way to synchronize the archives with their source directories, and if this will be faster than creating new archives from scratch, how can I do this?

Here's my current command:

"c:\program files\(utilities)\(compression)\7-zip\7z.exe" u -t7z -p1234 ".\pegasus_mail.7z" -r "c:\program files\pmail\mail\*"

(Note: My actual password has been changed. Also, my adding the password command there seems to do nothing as all, as my archives open included files without hesitation. Any ideas on that?)

Many thanks.

• Igor Pavlov
      Igor Pavlov
      2004-11-30

Read description of -u switch.
      And also you must switch off solid mode:
      -ms=off

• J44xm
        J44xm
        2004-11-30

Thanks for replying. Long post short, the help file entry is a bit difficult to understand. I hope someone might be able to help me construct a parameter that does what I need (which is to modifying an existing .7z file so that it synchronizes to changes in my source directory).

Regarding the <action> table, when it mentions the "old archive," does this also refer, if I'm creating an archive from a directory, to my source directory? That is, does "Copy file (copy from old archive to new)" mean, in this case, to copy said file from the directory to my archive sans compression?