Menu

How to List All Subfolders in an Archive and Export it to Notepad?

2019-07-13
2019-07-25
  • Baror Liger

Baror Liger - 2019-07-13

Hi, I'm not good with commandline and directories. Can anyone provide me with the instructions to list all the subfolders in an archive folder like 7z, zip, and rar?

If anyone can help me out with the line of commands for all files in all subfolders as well, I would greatly appreciate it. If I need to do something so 7-zip commands can work on cmd, please provide instructions for that as well.

Last edit: Baror Liger 2019-07-13
  • mdadm

mdadm - 2019-07-14

7z.exe l archive.7z > file.txt

• Baror Liger

Baror Liger - 2019-07-16

What if the archive was located on my desktop? I don't think i can use 7z.exe just like that. Do I have to point to it as well?

Last edit: Baror Liger 2019-07-16
  • mdadm

mdadm - 2019-07-16

press Ctrl+r and write cmd.exe

For simple "7z.exe l archive.7z > file.txt" you have to be in the same directory where is 7z.exe and archive.7z, but you probably will be in "C:\WINDOWS>", but you may navigate or point to those.

So navigate to directory where you installed 7-Zip (probably "C:\Program Files\7-Zip\") and point to place where is your archive, for example:

go to root C: drive directory (C:) and then by pressing first letter(s) of directory you want to go (pr) and press "tab" key for auto competition. If there is space in directory name/filename use " before name ("C:\Program File and press "tab").

I'm not in windows now and don't remember it's directory structure, but you may try something like this:
    C:>"C:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe" l "C:\Users\Your user name\Desktop\archive.7z" > file.txt
    or
    C:\Program Files\7-Zip>7z.exe l "C:\Users\Your user name\Desktop\archive.7z" > archive.txt

useful commands in cmd:
    cd -display in what directory you are
    cd .. -up 1 directory
    cd \ -root dir on drive, for example on C: "C:\ "