Menu

7zip 21.07 and 19.00 process same zip archive differently.

Ariman
2022-02-06
2022-02-12
  • Ariman

Ariman - 2022-02-06

Hi.

I have zip file that seems to be somewhat non-standard. I'm no expert with the format but it looks like it has Unix flag for entries but DOS backslashes as path delimiter.

7zip 19.00 processes this file without any issues:

7-Zip 19.00 (x64) : Copyright (c) 1999-2018 Igor Pavlov : 2019-02-21

Scanning the drive for archives:
    1 file, 162127 bytes (159 KiB)

Listing archive: i4j.zip

--
    Path = i4j.zip
    Type = zip
    Physical Size = 162127

Date      Time    Attr         Size   Compressed  Name
    ------------------- ----- ------------ ------------  ------------------------
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples\
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples\customCode\
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples\customCode\media\
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 .....           60           60  samples\customCode\media\README.txt
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples\customCode\src\
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 .....         2213         2213  samples\customCode\src\SampleScreen.java
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 .....         2636         2636  samples\customCode\src\SampleActionBeanInfo.java

but 21.07 can not handle it properly and does not recognize path delimiters

7-Zip 21.07 (x64) : Copyright (c) 1999-2021 Igor Pavlov : 2021-12-26

Scanning the drive for archives:
    1 file, 162127 bytes (159 KiB)

Listing archive: i4j.zip

--
    Path = i4j.zip
    Type = zip
    Physical Size = 162127

Date      Time    Attr         Size   Compressed  Name
    ------------------- ----- ------------ ------------  ------------------------
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples_
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples_customCode_
    2010-06-08 09:44:16 D....            0            0  samples_customCode_media_