Menu

Many big files in multiple sub folders to separate 7z's

2018-06-26
2020-01-08
  • Radorn Keldam

Radorn Keldam - 2018-06-26

I have +1TB worth of 1.5 GB files in a number of nested folders that I want to compress each one to a separate 7z archive, putting the resulting archives the in the same folders as the original files, all while these are removed to leave space (the drive is not big enough to store the archives and the originals at the same time).
    I'm trying to use these settings
    My intention was selecting them from a windows search result page and sending them to compress from there.
    The WinRAR GUI has options for this, but 7-Zip doesn't seem to, but I don't want to compress to RAR.

How can I go about this? Manually compressing each file sounds like hell, and I have zero knowledge of BATCH scripting.

Last edit: Radorn Keldam 2018-06-27
  • Shell

Shell - 2018-06-27

I guess that you need to put each individual file to a separate archive. True, unlike WinRAR, 7-Zip does not still have such a feature. If you are not familiar with Command Prompt, you can create a batch file:
    @echo off
    cd /d upper_level_folder
    for /r %%a in (*) do (
    cd "%~pa"
    7z a -mx9 -mmt4 -m0=lzma2:d128m -sdel "%~na.7z" "%~nxa"
    )

Put the necessary path instead of upper_level_folder. If you put %1 here, you can drag the folder of interest onto the batch file. Refer to 7-Zip's help to tune its command-line switches.

I suggest you to test this script on a specially created folder first. Thus you can debug it without losing important data.

• Radorn Keldam

Radorn Keldam - 2018-06-28

Hello, and thanks for replying.
    I've tested the script, but I can't get it to work. I already put 7-Zip in the PATH and verified that I can run it from any directory, but the script still doesn't work. I get this:

The following usage of the path operator in batch-parameter
    substitution is invalid: %~pa"

For valid formats type CALL /? or FOR /?