SourceForge has been redesigned. Learn more.
Close

Problems with unpacking big files.

checkphp
2014-08-09
2014-10-02
  • checkphp

checkphp - 2014-08-09

Hello everybody.
    First of all please forgive me any grammar/spelling mistakes, english is NOT my native language.
    Second, I've been using 7zip for several years, haven't encountered any problems until now.

PC specs:

CPU: Intel Core i5 4440
    MB: MSI H81M-P33
    MEMORY: Goodram 4gb DDR3 1600mhz CL9
    HDD: ST500DM002-1BD142
    GPU: Radeon HD7850 1GB GDDR5 256-bit
    PSU: CoolerMaster 550W

7zip: Latest 64bit version, downloaded today just in case

Problem description:
    1. About a week ago using 7zip I packed big file (8gb) into 2 files that I can fit into 4.7gb DVDs
    2. Packed them with 7zip compression, fastest
    3. Compressing done without errors, burned the files on discs (X.7z.001 & X.7z.002) checked them if burned correctly and thats it - these files been waiting for a day like today.
    4. Today I copied these files onto my hdd and tried to unpack them using 7zip.
    5. 7zip while unpacking shows error reporting CRC error - file corrupt.

What have I done to diagnose the problem:
    1. Looked up cheksum on both DVD and HDD files, heres the link to screenshot:
    http://i.imgur.com/dyrwuRN.jpg
    2. Since the above seem to match I did deep scan for errors on my HDD with HD Tune.
    HD Tune reported no errors whatsoever.
    3. Done some tests with OCCT (cpu, mem, psu), no errors.
    4. Checked RAM usage while unpacking - never reached 75% of total installed memory.
    5. Uninstalled 7zip, cleaned with app similiar to CCleaner, downloaded latest 64bit version of 7zip, installed - tried to run unpacking again, tried to change temporary directory - still CRC error
    6. Packed the 8gb file multiple times with multiple options (7zip/zip | fastest/normal/maximum)