debug warning message question

Help
enghiong
2006-11-08
2013-03-12
  • enghiong

enghiong - 2006-11-08

I am new to using SDCC for PICs under Windows. When I compile using an example C pgm, eg p.c :
    c:\sdcc --debug -mpic14 -p16f628a p.c
    I get a warning message : p.asm:168:Warning [230] directive ignored when debug info is disabled
    But if I use:
    c:\sdcc -mpic14 -p16f628a p.c  the warning message does not appear.
    May I know what does "Warning [230] directive ignored when ... " mean. Can I just ignore it ?

For both cases, the hex file of the same size is generated.

Thanks

• Anonymous - 2006-11-09

What is in p.asm around line 168?

• enghiong

enghiong - 2006-11-09

I tried a smaller program "u.c" :

#include <pic16f628a.h>
      void delay();
      void main(void)
      {
      #define OUTPUT 0
      #define INPUT 1
      TRISA=OUTPUT;
      while(1)
      {
      PORTA = 0xff;
      delay();
      PORTA=0x00;
      delay();
      }
      }

void delay()
      {
      unsigned int i;
      for(i=0;i<5000;i++)
      {}
      }

The asm file showed those stated warnings at line 172, 188, ..as follows:

;;    1400  _TRISA   offset=0
          .line    10; "u.c"    TRISA=OUTPUT;  <-- line 172 of asm file; line 10 of u.c
          BSF    STATUS,5
          BCF    STATUS,6
          CLRF    _TRISA
      ; >>> /home/users/s/sd/sdcc-builder/build/sdcc-build/orig/sdcc/src/pic/gen.c:10095:genAssign
      _00106_DS_
          .line    14; "u.c"    PORTA = 0xff; <-- line 188 of asm file, line 14 of u.c
          MOVLW    0xff

So it seems like for every instruction ending with ";" in the c file, the warning appears.