Looking for banking advice for 8051-ish target

Help
mark
2023-07-24
2023-10-05
  • mark

mark - 2023-07-24

Hi,

I'm looking for some assistance with an 8051 project. I should preface this with
    a warning that despite many years of experience as a high-level programmer, I'm
    pretty novice at low level programming and an outright noob when it comes to
    embedded devices, particularly of Harvard architecture - so if my questions come
    across as those that might be asked by an amateur with no idea what he is doing,
    that's entirely to be expected... : )

I'm working with an off-the-shelf PCB which is powered by an SOC with a 8051
    core and embedded peripherals (RAM, flash, etc.) The core is mostly DS80C320
    compatible. Firmware source code for this chip is available online, but it is
    designed to be compiled using Keil. I'm intending to use this PCB as the
    controller for several devices I am building, but I also do not want to use
    Keil, so I've decided to refactor the codebase to be compiled with SDCC instead.
    I'm a full time Linux user so I'd like to just see this through and finish the
    port rather than take the easy option of "just use Keil and forget about it" :).

I've gone through the rote work of translating the codebase to account for the
    differences in syntax between SDCC and Keil, and I now have something which at
    least compiles without error, so long as I use --stack-auto and --model-huge.
    But I think I have problems with my banking implementation, and want to check a
    few things before I try to run the code on the device.

I noticed that the Keil is producing around 100KB of object code whereas SDCC is
    producing somewhere around 200KB. This seems to be because --model-huge adds 3
    mov instructions for every function call to implement banking. By luck, it
    seems that it is quite possible to arrange the modules such that there are many