pic18f4550 code example & interrupts

2007-07-16
2013-03-12
  • Francesco Orsenigo

I'm quite new in the wonderful world of microcontroller programming, and have just recently managed to move the developement environment from MPLAB to linux/sdcc.

I'm having trouble finding documentation for the very basics.

When declaring interrupts, how do i find out which number X corresponds to each interrupt?
    For example: "void timerISR() __interrupt (X) {}" what do i put as "X"?
    The sdccman.pdf tells me the numbers for some CPUs, but not for pic18.

Where do i get information about how to use all those "code char at __CONFIG1H _conf0 = ..." in a pic18?

Could someone point me to some code sample where interrupts are used?

Thanks a lot!
    Francesco

• Raphael Neider

Raphael Neider - 2007-07-16

From sdcc.sf.net, Dokumentation / SDCC Manual (.pdf), i.e. http://sdcc.sourceforge.net/doc/sdccman.pdf, see Section 4.6.14, p. 67.
      The PIC18 port offers 3 interrupt numbers:
      0 RESET handler
      1 HIGH priority interrupts
      2 LOW priority interrupts

HIGH and LOW refer to the setup of the device; you need to assign each interrupt source to one of HIGH of LOW using the <source>IP bit (e.g., TMR0IP).

Individual signal handlers (i.e., handlers for a particular interrupt source such as a timer or the UART), you can use the macros defined in signals.h (see Manual, Section 4.6.16.3---OK, this could be placed better...). There is even an example on how to use them (copied from the manual):

#include <pic18fregs.h>
      #include <signal.h>

/* This creates the dispatcher for HIGH priority interrupt sources. */
      DEF_INTHIGH(high_int)
      DEF_HANDLER(SIG_TMR0, _tmr0_handler)
      DEF_HANDLER(SIG_BCOL, _bcol_handler)
      END_DEF

/* This creates a handler for a particular source.
      ** Make sure it is referenced in the dispatcher code! */
      SIGHANDLER(_tmr0_handler)
      {
      /* action to be taken when timer 0 overflows */
      }