Problem in 1st level GLM beta values

Help
S.Wheelock
2014-06-10
2014-06-23
  • S.Wheelock

S.Wheelock - 2014-06-10

Dear Dr. Bach,

I am a student at the University of Birmingham at Alabama. Our lab uses Biopac and AcqKnowledge 4.1.0 to record skin conductance during fMRI. Our task is a fast event-related design with 5 second stimulus presentations and a 1 to 3 second inter trial interval. We are very excited to use your SCRalyze software for the GLM analysis of the fast event-related SCR data.

After running the 1st level GLM for an individual, we discovered that all of the betas for the trial type regressors were the same value (with the exception of the contrasts with more than one trial type specified i.e. Fullmodel [1 1 1 1 1]). We must have done something wrong. However, after re-reading the manual several times and double checking our steps we are still unsure of where our error occurred.

I don't want to impose on you, but I would greatly appreciate it if you have time to download and look through our files. My hope is that you would be able to tell us where we went wrong.

These are the steps we followed:

We converted AcqKnowledge graph files (with 1 column for the SCR and 5 columns of stimulus type information) into tab delimited text format, and then into .mat files (Matlab R2010b) by using the SCRalyze GUI "Import".

Column 1: scr
    Column number: 1
    Sample rate: 250
    Transfer function: None

Column 2: Response
    Column number:2

Column 3: Response
    Column number:3

Column 4: Response
    Column number:4

Column 5: Response
    Column number:5

Column 6: Response
    Column number:6

Link to an example starting text file:
    2WAVE_MIST1.txt
    Link to our import script file:
    importMISTtxtscr.m
    Link to an example generated scr_*.mat file:
    scr_2WAVE_MIST1.mat

As far as we can tell, this worked as intended, creating scr_*.mat files in different folders, each containing a 6x1 data cell and a 1x1 infos structure.