don't delete labeled and Google Reader

P Cause
2011-12-01
2012-08-29
  • P Cause

    P Cause - 2011-12-01

    In the cleanup options I have "don't delete labeled" checked. I realized that
    every item from Google Reader is labeled! What Google Reader calls folders are
    labels and they show up in the list of labels. Given that, what does the
    "don't delete labeled" do when one syncs with Google Reader? I went to labels
    and deleted all of the Google Reader labels I use as folders instead of
    labels/tags. it is now removing labels from 92K items. Hope I have a usable
    data set left when it is done.

     
  • P Cause

    P Cause - 2011-12-01

    small update: after about 40 mins the 'removing labels" never finished. there
    is no cancel button. killed and then had to use an old backup db to get things
    working. be nice to have a "revert" command that presented a list of potential
    backup dbs and allowed the user to switch.

     
  • P Cause

    P Cause - 2011-12-02

    udnerstand there is a work around, but it is pretty awkward and I am most
    users will miss this. but the other issue is the time it takes to do the
    operation. I have a lot of feeds and now have a lot of items becuase of this.
    I just tried 1 label and there are 11K items for the label. The operation to
    remove the label is now running and is VERY slow. Do you do this in 1
    transaction or do you do a transaction per item? May have to kill and roll
    back to a database bakcup again. maybe start clean and reimport all from
    Google Reader, but that will mean I lose some informaiton.

    Other RSS Readers, even ones on Android, can tell the difference between a
    label and a folder. You can do this too and ask the user to verify on import.

     
  • Anonymous

    Anonymous - 2011-12-02

    Yes this operation is slow because it had to save each news fully and also
    index it again. If you can not live with this issue then I suggest switching
    to another reader.

     
  • P Cause

    P Cause - 2011-12-02

    I have been a long time user and don't want to switch. And this is a real
    issue. Can't you do all of the updates in 1 transaction? Worst case I will
    delete, reinstall and resync with Google then clean out the labels.

     

Log in to post a comment.