How do you compile a java file to an .EXE???.

2005-06-28
2012-08-29
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Hi,Ben.

I wish to know how you convert your java program to an executable file( JAVA to EXE). Which program do you use??? . Is Ant who comes with eclipse???.. If is so, how yo do that,,( parameters, etc...).

Thanks..

Im a newbie, and i am studiing your program to learn more java, but i dont understand how compile a java file to an .EXE like you do in your program.

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2005-06-28

The "rssowl.exe" is just a small application that executes Java. RSSOwl is not compiled to native, only the Java launcher is.

I am using the Nullsoft Scriptable Install System. Find it at http://nsis.sourceforge.net.

The script I am using is online here:
      http://nsis.sourceforge.net/wiki/Java_Launcher

Ben

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2005-06-30

NSIS indeed works great to create a .exe that launch a Java application. I tried it with the script above, and was able to make it work fine, but it keeps a console window opened (with title "C:\Program Files\Java\jdk1.5.0_03\bin\java.exe").

How did you make this window go away ?

Thanks.

• Guillaume

PS Here's the SWT snippet I used to test:
        /****/
        public static void main(String[] args) {
        System.setProperty("java.library.path","./");

Display display = new Display();
        Shell shell = new Shell(display);
        shell.open();
        while (!shell.isDisposed()) {
            if (!display.readAndDispatch())
                display.sleep();
        }
        display.dispose();

}
        /****/

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2005-06-30

Just replace the "java.exe" with "javaw.exe" and it should not show any console window.

Ben

• Nobody/Anonymous

And i have a question about RSSOWL programming...

Why you dont program more with Jface???. For example, with Jface.document/Idocument o Jface Text/Itext..... I think would do your program good looking (more than now)...