Can't hide Recovery HD option

2012-09-20
2015-04-05
  • Matthew Petch

Matthew Petch - 2012-09-20

I've added (what I believe to be) the directory of the boot.efi to dont_scan dirs, yet the option still persists when I reboot.

Some brief info: Retina MBP, 10.8.1/Windows 7, rEFInd 0.4.5

I think the directory for the.efi is /Recovery HD/System/Library/CoreServices/, so I've tried adding several things to dont_scan_dirs, non of which work. This is what I'm currently trying.

dont_scan_dirs EFI/boot,EFI/Dell,Recovery HD

I assume I'm doing something terribly wrong here (either I have the wrong directory for the .efi, or I'm inserting it into the .conf incorrectly). Any help much appreciated.

Last edit: Matthew Petch 2012-09-20
  • Roderick W. Smith

It sounds to me as if you're trying to keep some sort of recovery version of OS X from appearing. (My own Mac system is pretty ancient, so I'm afraid I have no personal experience with this type of setup.) If so, I don't believe it's possible to do this with the current version of rEFInd -- at least, not with auto-scanning of OSes enabled. You could, though, disable auto-scanning and enable manual scanning, as in "scanfor manual" or "scanfor manual,external,optical". You could then create a manual boot stanza for just the version of OS X that you want to appear in the menu.

• Matthew Petch

Matthew Petch - 2012-10-13

Thanks, I'll try this later and post if it worked.

• Matthew Petch

Matthew Petch - 2012-10-13

Ignore this; double post.

Last edit: Matthew Petch 2012-10-13
  • Roderick W. Smith

I've added a new option to rEFInd 0.6.0 that should help with this type of problem: dont_scan_volumes. Set this to the name of the filesystem(s) that you don't want scanned and rEFInd won't scan them for boot loaders. For instance, IIRC the standard name for the volume with the recovery installation is Recovery HD, so you'd set it:

dont_scan_volumes "Recovery HD"