Menu

How reliable is your PBX?

bazza14
2017-03-07
2018-01-23
  • bazza14

bazza14 - 2017-03-07

Hi. I'm just after feedback from you guys regarding SD card life. I've been using Raspbx for about 9 months now and have just had my second SD card failure. Wondering about the quality of the SD cards. I would be interested to know how long your PBX typically runs for before you have failures. thanks in advance for your replies.

• zeler christian

zeler christian - 2017-03-08

Hi,
    In my first experience with first PI generation some years ago first sd card was killed in 1 week
    Same experience now with the last PI generation same thing with my first sd card
    you have two solutions
    Trying an expensive quality SLC industrial SD card about mini $100 for 4Gb
    Mooving to an USB SLC key $100 for 16 Gb
    Moovind to a quality SSD MLC $100 for 64/128 Gb

I'm in test since two monthes using an SSD plugged/unpugged, working with worst ( POE extractor) and good power supply and the baby seems like it working fine :-)
    Raspy is mounted in 19 Inches enclosure with 2 NIC cards USB SSD and USB lcd displaying IP and memory informations.

• Jon Eskdale

Jon Eskdale - 2017-03-08

My PI - First generation (Pi 1) has been running on the original SD card
      since I initially installed it without any issue That is 3-4 years.. But
      it is running the earlier version of RASPBX, from this forum it appears
      that it is the newer version of the software that has been killing the
      cards although I believe there have recently been some improvements made to
      put less wear on the cards. Jon

Jon Eskdale
      07530 112233
      Skype "eskdale"

On 8 March 2017 at 00:38, zeler christian comdif@users.sf.net wrote:

Hi,
      In my first experience with first PI generation some years ago first sd
      card was killed in 1 week
      Same experience now with the last PI generation same thing with my first
      sd card
      you have two solutions