I don't know how to install it

Help
King84
2009-12-13
2013-05-28
  • King84

King84 - 2009-12-13

Hello everybody,
    I'm kind of new to Linux (been having it for a month or so). I have Karmic Koala Ubuntu 9.10 on a HP Pavilion dv6000 notebook. I'm a bit proud I cancelled Vista and put on Linux on my own, on it.
    I just don't know how to install rakarrack 0.3.0 though, and it isn't written anywere. I have searched the internet for many forums and blogs, but can't find it anywhere.
    In the section guide http://rakarrack.sourceforge.net/help.html there isn't written.
    Can you all help me, please?

• Transmogrifox

Transmogrifox - 2009-12-13

The next Ubuntu release, Lucid Lynx, will include Rakarrack as a standard package that you may install using package management tools.  This is scheduled for April 2010.

Until then, you will need to compile from source.  If you're going to all the trouble of compiling from source,  you should compile from current CVS as the rakarrack team has recently made some significant bug fixes.

The first step is to get the source code.  You need to open a command terminal (sorry) and enter the following commands:

cvs -d:pserver:anonymous@rakarrack.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/rakarrack login

when the prompt ask for password … just press enter

cvs -z3 -d:pserver:anonymous@rakarrack.cvs.sourceforge.net:/cvsroot/rakarrack co -P rakarrack2

The above can be found here http://rakarrack.sourceforge.net/dl.html

The next part is to get all the dependencies and extra tools you need to compile programs on your computer.

libfltk1.1

libxpm

libjack100.0

libasound2

aconnect

jackd

fftw3

Use the above names as search criteria in Synaptic Package Manager.  If you aren't familiar with where to find this program in your menus, you can type in a terminal:

sudo synaptic

Then type your password.