Jamming to MP3 audio with Rakarrack

Help
zumajim
2011-07-06
2013-05-28
  • zumajim

zumajim - 2011-07-06

I don't know if this is even possible but would be a dream come true: I want to be to play along with MP3 jam tracks through Rakarrack. I have Rakarrack/jackd working fine on my Fedora 15 system but can't figure out how to mix Rakarrack's output with an MP3 audio stream, if that's even possible. Can I feed Rakarrack's output to a multimedia player (e.g. XMMS)? Clearly, I'm a Linux audio noob, but would like to hear your ideas. Thanks!

• Transmogrifox

Transmogrifox - 2011-07-07

This is actually pretty simple using jack.  You will want to use a jack routing program like qjackctl or patchage.

From there you patch Rakarrack to System Outputs, and also patch media player (audacious has a jack output plugin) to the same output.

IIRC Totem automatically connects itself to system outputs so you don't have to manually route it, so try this:

Open an mp3 in Totem (with jack active). 
    Open Rakarrack.
    Play to the music. 

Use the volume controls on the media player and/or on Rakarrack to help adjust levels.

There are also mixer programs for jack to do this sort of thing.  Search your package manager for jack mixers and see what you come up with. 

Anyway, I don't have much for a step-by-step for you at the moment, but I hope this is encouragement that you can easily do what you're asking.
    cheers,

• Transmogrifox

Transmogrifox - 2011-07-07

Just an extra:  I often use Rakarrack to process audio.  There are some stereo imaging effects and EQ that can make music sound very alive if adjusted properly.  I use Audacious, and just route Audacious' output into Rakarrack.

To play along with an mp3, all I would have to do is route Audacious to system output instead.

• zumajim

zumajim - 2011-07-08