From: Aliza P. <ali...@gm...> - 2010-03-11 16:37:11
|
With Rails 1.1.3, you can sell a share that you have just bought. The rules for 1856 clearly prohibit this: The first bullet under "selling shares": ======================= A certificate cannot be sold during the stock turn it was purchased. However, other certificates from the same company can be sold in the same stock turn. ======================= |
From: Stefan F. <ste...@we...> - 2010-03-11 19:35:21
|
I have to apologize that I am not very familiar with 1856, but I do not fully capture the precise meaning of that rule (especially considering the "clarification" on the rule comparison list): I understand the quoted rule from the rulebook that I am only allowed to sell the number of shares which I had in my portfolio at the beginning of my turn and not the one I just bought. Next turn I am free to sell that additional share/certificate. Below is the clarification by the author from the rule comparison list: What difference arises from the fact that I distinguish between share or certificate? Or does it indicate that I can sell none of the shares in a company I have just bought in that stock turn? 2.3 - When can you first sell shares in a company? 1856: As soon as you like; but you may not sell a share in the same share turn in which you bought it, though you may sell other identical ones. (The rules say 'certificate', but author Bill Dixon explains that 'share' is meant.) On Thursday 11 March 2010 17:36:23 Aliza Panitz wrote: > With Rails 1.1.3, you can sell a share that you have just bought. The rules > for 1856 clearly prohibit this: > > The first bullet under "selling shares": > ======================= > A certificate cannot be sold during the stock turn it was purchased. > However, other certificates from the same company can be sold in the same > stock turn. > ======================= > > --------------------------------------------------------------------------- >--- Download Intel® Parallel Studio Eval > Try the new software tools for yourself. Speed compiling, find bugs > proactively, and fine-tune applications for parallel performance. > See why Intel Parallel Studio got high marks during beta. > http://p.sf.net/sfu/intel-sw-dev > _______________________________________________ > Rails-devel mailing list > Rai...@li... > https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/rails-devel |
From: Chris S. <chr...@gm...> - 2010-03-11 19:39:03
|
> I understand the quoted rule from the rulebook that I am only > allowed to sell > the number of shares which I had in my portfolio at the beginning of > my turn > and not the one I just bought. Next turn I am free to sell that > additional > share/certificate. Correct. You might more properly say "the number and type of shares..." -- Chris Shaffer Please consider the environment before printing this email. |
From: Aliza P. <ali...@gm...> - 2010-03-11 20:58:57
|
(1) I hold one GW share. IPO price is $100, current price is $150. On my stock turn, I buy one GW and then sell two, spending $100 and receiving $300. This kind of thing is legal in 1830 but not in 1856. (2) Imagine that we are sitting at my kitchen table playing 1856. With my left hand I purchase a GW share. While I am still holding that share in my left hand, with my right hand I sell one or more GW shares that are sitting on the table in front of me. This is legal in 1856. Does that make the distinction clear? (There's a further subtle distinction: If the only certificate in front of me is the 20% President's certificate, I can buy a share with my left hand, and then with my right hand peel off one imaginary share from the President's cert and sell that, letting the 10% in front of me and the 10% I just bought magically rejoin into the President's cert. This is not obvious from the text of the rules but has been clarified in addenda.) The net effect is fairly important: If I am trying to take advantage of arbitrage opportunity, or just to trash another player's stock prices, I need to assess the risk that a share I buy may be worth less than what I paid for it by the time I have an opportunity to sell it. - Aliza On Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 11:38 AM, Chris Shaffer <chr...@gm...> wrote: >> I understand the quoted rule from the rulebook that I am only >> allowed to sell >> the number of shares which I had in my portfolio at the beginning of >> my turn >> and not the one I just bought. Next turn I am free to sell that >> additional >> share/certificate. > > Correct. You might more properly say "the number and type of shares..." > > -- > Chris Shaffer > |