From: Stefan F. <ste...@we...> - 2014-11-27 10:39:55
|
In the following it is rougher longish list of attributes for all privates with teleporting powers. By collecting those I came up with some implementation issues in Rails that I would like to fix in 2.0. So please feel free to comment where you agree or disagree. I know this has been discussed before, but from what I have seen there has been no definite decision yet. Sometimes it got blurred that privates in different games behave differently but were discussed as being identical. And I have to include myself here ;-) *** Rails and the "teleporting" privates. Those are privates that provide a special power to lay a base token. In Rails there are currently 1830 (D&H), 1835 (NF, PfB), 1856 (W&SR), 18GA (W&S), 18Kaas(D&H) implemented. Rails implementation issues are: A) Laying tokens on hexes/tiles without track For all except NF in 1835, the token is laid on a hex that initially does not contain any track. Question is if it is allowed to lay the token without a tile is laid before. Unfortunately this nearly never addressed in the rule book, in most cases the answer is given by a rules clarification. There are several variants: 1830/D&H: I have not found any precise ruling here. However it is very unlikely to lay the token without laying the tile. 1835/PfB: The tile has to be laid (and the BA choose her station first). 1856/WS&R: No need for tile lay first. 18GA/W&S: No need for tile lay first. * My suggestions for implementation in Rails: => 1830/D&H: Only offer the special token lay if the special tile has been executed in that turn. Later it is not possible anymore (see Mayfair rules). (Same is true for 18Kaas/D&H) => 1835/PfB: Only offer the special token lay if the tile is laid (regardless by whom and how) and the BA token is placed. And change the closing condition to token lay only. => 1856/WS&R: Nothing to change here => 18GA/W&S: Nothing to change, except fix bug (Rails offers a special tile lay similar to D&H in 1830, this is wrong). B) Tile or Token phase for 1835/NF and 1835/PfB? Remark: I think there is agreement, that those are the two relevant phases. It is relevant if the token laying company can start tile laying from the newly established token head. * My suggestion: => Default should be Tile Lay phase, however provide option to change it to Token lay phase (Rick Westermann rule) *** APPENDIX Below I have summarized all attributes of the special company as given by the game rules (or clarifications). * The attributes are: For tile lay: tile: if a specific tile is allowed/required to lay? when: in which phase the tile lay is allowed? extra: if tile lay is in addition to the standard tile lay allowances? connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to connectivity? free: if the tile lay would usually require payment of terrain cost - if it is free of that charge? reserved: if the hex is reserved for the tile lay through the special power For token lay: when: in which phase the token lay is allowed? extra: if token lay is in addition to the standard token lay allowance of that turn [Remark: Rails always assume that home token are extra lays] connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to connectivity? free: if the token lay would usually require payment of some costs - if it is free of that charge reserved: if a slot is reserved for the special power of the privat company [Remark: This would be similar to the reserved slots of home tokens, no current private has this power] requires tile laid: if there has to be a tile laid before the token can be placed General (if private has both Tile and Token powers) Private closes: When does the private close (after execution of all, any, none, or a specific power?) Separate execution: Can the powers be executed separately? (in different turns, by different companies?) *** 1830: * D&H - Delaware & Hudson [Tile & Token] Location: F16 Ownership: only available to owning company Tile lay: tile - 57 (not reserved) when - in Tile Lay phase extra - no connected - no free - no (cost of mountain = 120) reserved - no (except blocking before bought by company) Token lay: when - in Token Lay phase extra - no [AH General Clarification] connected - no free - yes reserved - no requires tile laid: ??? (current implementation allows token lay without tile lay - similar to W&SR) Private closes: never Separate execution [Mayfair]: After other company lay tile, special token lay no longer available After own tile lay, token lay no longer available in future turns After own token lay, tile lay in future turns: ??? *** 1835: * NF - Nuernberg / Fuerth [Token only] Location: L14 (preprinted green double cities with 2 narrow curves) Ownership: available to all companies of owning player Token lay: when - (anytime, especially) in Tile Lay phase [optional: only in Token Lay phase / Rick Westermann supplemental rule] extra - yes connected - no free - yes reserved - no requires tile laid - N/A (already on map) Private closes: after special token lay * Pfb - Pfalzbahn [Tile & Token] Location: L6 (yellow double cities) Ownership: available to all companies of owning player Tile lay: tiles - all available (green phase only) when - in Tile Lay phase extra - yes connected - no free - yes (however there is no cost on L6 anyway) reserved - no Token lay: when - (anytime, especially) in Tile Lay phase Remark: station marker of BA has to be laid first [german rules 2nd ed] [optional: only in Token Lay phase / Rick Westermann supplemental rule] extra - yes connected - no free - yes reserved - no requires tile laid - yes [german rules 2nd ed] Private closes: after special token lay Separate execution: yes, token after tile lay possible, even by different companies *** 1856 * W&SR - Waterloo & Saugeen Railway [Tile & Token] Location: I12 (yellow double cities) Ownership: only available to owning company Tile lay: tile - 59 (not reserved) when - in Tile Lay phase extra - no connected - no free - no (however there is no cost on I12 anyway) reserved - no (except blocking before bought by company) Token lay: when - in Token Lay phase extra - no connected - no free - yes reserved - no requires tile laid - no [Lou Jerkich rules clarification] Remark: owner tile laying company chooses token location Private closes: after either tile and token lay Separate execution: no, as private will close after either action *** 18GA * W&S - Waycross & Southern [Token only] Token lay: when - in Token lay phase extra - no connected - no free - yes reserved - no (not even blocked for tile if owned by player) Remark: Bug in Rails: Allows Special tile lay *** 18Kaas * D&H - identical to 1830/D&H, except location = K16 |
From: Erik V. <eri...@xs...> - 2014-11-27 16:42:29
|
Hi Stefan, Allow me to pick a little nit: > * NF - Nuernberg / Fuerth [Token only] > requires tile laid - N/A (already on map) Technically, in Rails, there always is a tile on the map, even initially. The distinction you are making here with 1830/D&H suggests that you actually had "track on the (initial) map" in mind. But in practice, as you know, this option is meant to define if a non-preprinted tile has to be laid to allow token laying. So a better answer here would be "no". Erik |
From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2014-11-27 18:55:55
|
On 2014-11-27 02:39, Stefan Frey wrote: > * My suggestions for implementation in Rails: > > => 1830/D&H: Only offer the special token lay if the special tile has > been executed in that turn. Later it is not possible anymore (see > Mayfair rules). > (Same is true for 18Kaas/D&H) In 1830 rules it is definitely possible to lay a token without a tile. Still, your answer is reasonable. I can't think of any reason why a player would want to lay the tile but not the token. The other place this commonly happens is the Erie home -- I've seen the Erie float and somebody else use up both #59 tiles before Erie's turn! I've also seen the Erie (or NYC) not choose to lay its home tile because its owner doesn't want to be forced to buy the last 4 train. In both these cases the token is required to be laid in the empty hex anyway (and some other company may then build a route to it, just to force that company to buy the train). > => 1835/PfB: Only offer the special token lay if the tile is laid > (regardless by whom and how) and the BA token is placed. > And change the closing condition to token lay only. That agrees with my understanding of the rules. 1835/OBB also deserves mention, even though it does not lay a token. The present code doesn't allow tiles to be laid in those two hexes on the same turn, no matter who lays them or whether that player has the OBB. What the rules say should happen is that you can't use the OBB to lay both tiles in one turn -- but you can lay both if one of them is counted as a regular tile lay. Also, the OBB should close as soon as there are tiles in both hexes -- even if the OBB didn't put them there. > => 1856/WS&R: Nothing to change here I agree. The existing program allows the token to be laid without a tile, and that can easily be necessary, because there are only two #59 tiles and they are easy to use up, especially if THB forms. > => 18GA/W&S: Nothing to change, except fix bug (Rails offers a special > tile lay similar to D&H in 1830, this is wrong). I agree. > B) Tile or Token phase for 1835/NF and 1835/PfB? > > Remark: I think there is agreement, that those are the two relevant phases. (Semantics: Let's stick with "step" = steps of the turn, "phase" = parts of the game that determine rule changes.) > It is relevant if the token laying company can start tile laying from > the newly established token head. I would make it the default behavior, that tiles are placed in the tile laying step and tokens (except a company's home) are placed in the token laying step. But in 1835 I would allow it to be changed as an option, because some players insist that they can place the token and then lay track from it on the same turn. > *** APPENDIX > > Below I have summarized all attributes of the special company as given > by the game rules (or clarifications). > > * The attributes are: > > For tile lay: > tile: if a specific tile is allowed/required to lay? when: in which step the tile lay is allowed? > extra: if tile lay is in addition to the standard tile lay allowances? > connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to > connectivity? > free: if the tile lay would usually require payment of terrain cost - if > it is free of that charge? > reserved: if the hex is reserved for the tile lay through the special power I've always assumed "reserved" here means the broader, 1830 sense of the term: when a hex is "reserved" by a private, it means no railroad can lay a tile in the hex, except by using the private's power, so long as a player owns the private. When the private closes, or is sold to a railroad, or a tile is laid there, the hex is no longer reserved. I also want to make the "reserved" attribute changeable during the game, because in 1837, the mountain company hexes are "reserved" only during yellow phase. In later phases anyone can lay tiles there. > For token lay: > when: in which phase the token lay is allowed? > extra: if token lay is in addition to the standard token lay allowance > of that turn > [Remark: Rails always assume that home token are extra lays] > connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to > connectivity? > free: if the token lay would usually require payment of some costs - if > it is free of that charge > reserved: if a slot is reserved for the special power of the privat company > [Remark: This would be similar to the reserved slots of home tokens, > no current private has this power] > requires tile laid: if there has to be a tile laid before the token can > be placed I would add an attribute here - controlled: means that some company (specified by this attribute) "owns" the hex, and the first tile laid in that hex requires its permission. (Examples: the Erie home in 1830; the BA home in 1835; all six hexes around Paris in 1826; and four hexes in 18EU that could block a newly formed company from building a route. Some players play that the THB home in 1856 has this attribute, too.) > General (if private has both Tile and Token powers) > Private closes: When does the private close (after execution of all, > any, none, or a specific power?) I would generalize this to allow conditions such as "after any tile is laid at H36" to handle cases like 1835/OBB. > Separate execution: Can the powers be executed separately? (in different > turns, by different companies?) No need for this. The only cases I can think of are "tile and token" teleport privates such as the D&H and Pfalz, and the way to handle those is simply to close the private at the end of the turn when any one of the powers is used (if you don't want to let them be used on separate turns) or only when all the powers are used (if you do want to allow this). > *** 1830: > > * D&H - Delaware & Hudson [Tile & Token] > > Location: F16 > > Ownership: only available to owning company > > Tile lay: tile - all available yellow tiles (this handles variants that add #5 and #6 tiles to the game) > when - in Tile Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - no (cost of mountain = 120) reserved - yes (as I define the term above) > Token lay: > when - in Token Lay phase > extra - no [AH General Clarification] > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no requires tile laid - no private closes - at end of turn in which either power is used (Optional rule: at end of turn in which token is laid. This implements the Mayfair rule.) (We don't need to consider the case of laying token now and tile later, because once a company has a token in a hex, it can lay a tile there using the normal building rules. 18GA/W&S already relies on this fact.) > *** 1835: > > * NF - Nuernberg / Fuerth [Token only] > > Location: L14 (preprinted green double cities with 2 narrow curves) > Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player > > Token lay: when - token lay step (optional rule: also before tile lay step) > extra - yes > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no requires tile laid - no private closes - when its token lay power is used > * Pfb - Pfalzbahn [Tile & Token] > > Location: L6 (yellow double cities) > Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player > > Tile lay: > tiles - all available (green phase only) when - tile lay step (optional rule: also after "buy trains" step) > extra - yes > connected - no free - no (however there is no cost on L6 anyway) > reserved - no > > Token lay: when - token lay step! > Remark: station marker of BA has to be laid first [german rules 2nd ed] > [optional: only in Token Lay phase / Rick Westermann supplemental rule] > extra - yes > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no > requires tile laid - yes [german rules 2nd ed] > private closes - when its token lay power is used * OBB: Location: M15, M17 Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player Tile lay: tiles - all available when - tile lay step extra - yes connected - no free - yes reserved - no private closes - when there are tiles on both hexes, no matter how they got there! > *** 1856 > > * W&SR - Waterloo & Saugeen Railway [Tile & Token] > > Location: I12 (yellow double cities) > > Ownership: only available to owning company > > Tile lay: > tile - 59 (not reserved) > when - in Tile Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - no (however there is no cost on I12 anyway) > reserved - yes > > Token lay: > when - in Token Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no > requires tile laid - no [Lou Jerkich rules clarification] > Remark: owner tile laying company chooses token location This doesn't need to be said. Laying a tile in a hex that has a token but no track is an upgrade - the person laying the tile chooses which token goes where, subject to connectivity. requires tile laid - no private closes - at end of turn in which either power is used > > *** 18GA > > * W&S - Waycross & Southern [Token only] > > Token lay: > when - in Token lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - yes reserved - yes (as I define the term above) > > Remark: Bug in Rails: Allows Special tile lay > > > *** 18Kaas > > * D&H - identical to 1830/D&H, except location = K16 *** 1837 (each of the 7 mountain companies) Location: per each private Ownership: available to all major, minor, and coal companies of owning player Tile lay: tiles - all available when - tile lay step extra - no connected - yes free - yes reserved - yes (changes to "no" when 3 train is purchased) private closes - never |
From: <com...@ip...> - 2014-11-28 03:18:33
|
>Still, your answer is reasonable. I can't think of any reason why a >player would want to lay the tile but not the token. Planning ahead - you might lay a tile in advance of needing it for the token because you know that there's some other tile that you are going to want to lay in the same round as placing the token. I've seen this happen in multiple games where laying a token and "activating" a company will trigger a phase change - so you build the infrastructure in advance of your needs post-phase change. |
From: Stefan F. <ste...@we...> - 2014-11-30 19:55:59
|
John: Thanks for all your feedback and adding further privates. I will incorporate it into one document and add it to the documentation on the Rails web page. However I am still not sure how to handle 1830/D&H? You got me re-think again my position here and I completely agree that the rules are at least quiet about laying the token only. My arguments (with decreasing preference) for allowing laying the token without the tile are: A) If something is allowed by applying general rules and is not explicitly ruled as forbidden it should be allowed. B) It is compatible with 1856, where the rules do not have a special rule on this. 1835 is different, but here at least the 2nd edition of German rules explicitly forbid to lay the PfB token without a tile. D) It opens more strategic options for the players. Also previous discussions on 18xx yahoo group take a similar view, however there was no general agreement and most of the discussion was around 1856, which is clearly solved by now. My only argument for requiring the tile lay of D&H in the same turn of the token lay is based on the new Mayfair 1830 rules: It did rule that laying the token on a later turn is not allowed and it does not allow to lay the token if a different company laid a tile on the D&H hex. For me this indicated that at least the one who did the Mayfair rule editing thought that the tile lay is somehow constitutional for the token lay, otherwise he or she could have ruled otherwise and allow the token lay to be independent of the tile lay (and solve that identical to 1856 and W&SR). What do the others think? I think I would prefer now to allow the token lay be possible without the tile lay. But do we allow laying the token if the tile has been laid either in a previous round or by a different company? Which seems to be logical, however contradicts the Mayfair rules? Still undecided, Stefan On 11/27/2014 07:55 PM, John David Galt wrote: > On 2014-11-27 02:39, Stefan Frey wrote: >> * My suggestions for implementation in Rails: >> >> => 1830/D&H: Only offer the special token lay if the special tile has >> been executed in that turn. Later it is not possible anymore (see >> Mayfair rules). >> (Same is true for 18Kaas/D&H) > > In 1830 rules it is definitely possible to lay a token without a tile. > Still, your answer is reasonable. I can't think of any reason why a > player would want to lay the tile but not the token. > > The other place this commonly happens is the Erie home -- I've seen the > Erie float and somebody else use up both #59 tiles before Erie's turn! > I've also seen the Erie (or NYC) not choose to lay its home tile because > its owner doesn't want to be forced to buy the last 4 train. In both > these cases the token is required to be laid in the empty hex anyway > (and some other company may then build a route to it, just to force that > company to buy the train). > |
From: Chris S. <chr...@gm...> - 2014-11-27 19:06:25
|
> > I've always assumed "reserved" here means the broader, 1830 sense of > the term: when a hex is "reserved" by a private, it means no railroad > can lay a tile in the hex, except by using the private's power, so long > as a player owns the private. When the private closes, or is sold to a > railroad, or a tile is laid there, the hex is no longer reserved. > I also want to make the "reserved" attribute changeable during the game, > because in 1837, the mountain company hexes are "reserved" only during > yellow phase. In later phases anyone can lay tiles there. Note that in some games, the private continues to reserve the hex even after it is owned by a company. The release mechanism should have several potential triggers. |