From: Stefan F. <ste...@we...> - 2014-11-30 19:55:59
|
John: Thanks for all your feedback and adding further privates. I will incorporate it into one document and add it to the documentation on the Rails web page. However I am still not sure how to handle 1830/D&H? You got me re-think again my position here and I completely agree that the rules are at least quiet about laying the token only. My arguments (with decreasing preference) for allowing laying the token without the tile are: A) If something is allowed by applying general rules and is not explicitly ruled as forbidden it should be allowed. B) It is compatible with 1856, where the rules do not have a special rule on this. 1835 is different, but here at least the 2nd edition of German rules explicitly forbid to lay the PfB token without a tile. D) It opens more strategic options for the players. Also previous discussions on 18xx yahoo group take a similar view, however there was no general agreement and most of the discussion was around 1856, which is clearly solved by now. My only argument for requiring the tile lay of D&H in the same turn of the token lay is based on the new Mayfair 1830 rules: It did rule that laying the token on a later turn is not allowed and it does not allow to lay the token if a different company laid a tile on the D&H hex. For me this indicated that at least the one who did the Mayfair rule editing thought that the tile lay is somehow constitutional for the token lay, otherwise he or she could have ruled otherwise and allow the token lay to be independent of the tile lay (and solve that identical to 1856 and W&SR). What do the others think? I think I would prefer now to allow the token lay be possible without the tile lay. But do we allow laying the token if the tile has been laid either in a previous round or by a different company? Which seems to be logical, however contradicts the Mayfair rules? Still undecided, Stefan On 11/27/2014 07:55 PM, John David Galt wrote: > On 2014-11-27 02:39, Stefan Frey wrote: >> * My suggestions for implementation in Rails: >> >> => 1830/D&H: Only offer the special token lay if the special tile has >> been executed in that turn. Later it is not possible anymore (see >> Mayfair rules). >> (Same is true for 18Kaas/D&H) > > In 1830 rules it is definitely possible to lay a token without a tile. > Still, your answer is reasonable. I can't think of any reason why a > player would want to lay the tile but not the token. > > The other place this commonly happens is the Erie home -- I've seen the > Erie float and somebody else use up both #59 tiles before Erie's turn! > I've also seen the Erie (or NYC) not choose to lay its home tile because > its owner doesn't want to be forced to buy the last 4 train. In both > these cases the token is required to be laid in the empty hex anyway > (and some other company may then build a route to it, just to force that > company to buy the train). > |