From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2014-11-27 18:55:55
|
On 2014-11-27 02:39, Stefan Frey wrote: > * My suggestions for implementation in Rails: > > => 1830/D&H: Only offer the special token lay if the special tile has > been executed in that turn. Later it is not possible anymore (see > Mayfair rules). > (Same is true for 18Kaas/D&H) In 1830 rules it is definitely possible to lay a token without a tile. Still, your answer is reasonable. I can't think of any reason why a player would want to lay the tile but not the token. The other place this commonly happens is the Erie home -- I've seen the Erie float and somebody else use up both #59 tiles before Erie's turn! I've also seen the Erie (or NYC) not choose to lay its home tile because its owner doesn't want to be forced to buy the last 4 train. In both these cases the token is required to be laid in the empty hex anyway (and some other company may then build a route to it, just to force that company to buy the train). > => 1835/PfB: Only offer the special token lay if the tile is laid > (regardless by whom and how) and the BA token is placed. > And change the closing condition to token lay only. That agrees with my understanding of the rules. 1835/OBB also deserves mention, even though it does not lay a token. The present code doesn't allow tiles to be laid in those two hexes on the same turn, no matter who lays them or whether that player has the OBB. What the rules say should happen is that you can't use the OBB to lay both tiles in one turn -- but you can lay both if one of them is counted as a regular tile lay. Also, the OBB should close as soon as there are tiles in both hexes -- even if the OBB didn't put them there. > => 1856/WS&R: Nothing to change here I agree. The existing program allows the token to be laid without a tile, and that can easily be necessary, because there are only two #59 tiles and they are easy to use up, especially if THB forms. > => 18GA/W&S: Nothing to change, except fix bug (Rails offers a special > tile lay similar to D&H in 1830, this is wrong). I agree. > B) Tile or Token phase for 1835/NF and 1835/PfB? > > Remark: I think there is agreement, that those are the two relevant phases. (Semantics: Let's stick with "step" = steps of the turn, "phase" = parts of the game that determine rule changes.) > It is relevant if the token laying company can start tile laying from > the newly established token head. I would make it the default behavior, that tiles are placed in the tile laying step and tokens (except a company's home) are placed in the token laying step. But in 1835 I would allow it to be changed as an option, because some players insist that they can place the token and then lay track from it on the same turn. > *** APPENDIX > > Below I have summarized all attributes of the special company as given > by the game rules (or clarifications). > > * The attributes are: > > For tile lay: > tile: if a specific tile is allowed/required to lay? when: in which step the tile lay is allowed? > extra: if tile lay is in addition to the standard tile lay allowances? > connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to > connectivity? > free: if the tile lay would usually require payment of terrain cost - if > it is free of that charge? > reserved: if the hex is reserved for the tile lay through the special power I've always assumed "reserved" here means the broader, 1830 sense of the term: when a hex is "reserved" by a private, it means no railroad can lay a tile in the hex, except by using the private's power, so long as a player owns the private. When the private closes, or is sold to a railroad, or a tile is laid there, the hex is no longer reserved. I also want to make the "reserved" attribute changeable during the game, because in 1837, the mountain company hexes are "reserved" only during yellow phase. In later phases anyone can lay tiles there. > For token lay: > when: in which phase the token lay is allowed? > extra: if token lay is in addition to the standard token lay allowance > of that turn > [Remark: Rails always assume that home token are extra lays] > connected: if tile has to follow usual tile laying rules with respect to > connectivity? > free: if the token lay would usually require payment of some costs - if > it is free of that charge > reserved: if a slot is reserved for the special power of the privat company > [Remark: This would be similar to the reserved slots of home tokens, > no current private has this power] > requires tile laid: if there has to be a tile laid before the token can > be placed I would add an attribute here - controlled: means that some company (specified by this attribute) "owns" the hex, and the first tile laid in that hex requires its permission. (Examples: the Erie home in 1830; the BA home in 1835; all six hexes around Paris in 1826; and four hexes in 18EU that could block a newly formed company from building a route. Some players play that the THB home in 1856 has this attribute, too.) > General (if private has both Tile and Token powers) > Private closes: When does the private close (after execution of all, > any, none, or a specific power?) I would generalize this to allow conditions such as "after any tile is laid at H36" to handle cases like 1835/OBB. > Separate execution: Can the powers be executed separately? (in different > turns, by different companies?) No need for this. The only cases I can think of are "tile and token" teleport privates such as the D&H and Pfalz, and the way to handle those is simply to close the private at the end of the turn when any one of the powers is used (if you don't want to let them be used on separate turns) or only when all the powers are used (if you do want to allow this). > *** 1830: > > * D&H - Delaware & Hudson [Tile & Token] > > Location: F16 > > Ownership: only available to owning company > > Tile lay: tile - all available yellow tiles (this handles variants that add #5 and #6 tiles to the game) > when - in Tile Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - no (cost of mountain = 120) reserved - yes (as I define the term above) > Token lay: > when - in Token Lay phase > extra - no [AH General Clarification] > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no requires tile laid - no private closes - at end of turn in which either power is used (Optional rule: at end of turn in which token is laid. This implements the Mayfair rule.) (We don't need to consider the case of laying token now and tile later, because once a company has a token in a hex, it can lay a tile there using the normal building rules. 18GA/W&S already relies on this fact.) > *** 1835: > > * NF - Nuernberg / Fuerth [Token only] > > Location: L14 (preprinted green double cities with 2 narrow curves) > Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player > > Token lay: when - token lay step (optional rule: also before tile lay step) > extra - yes > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no requires tile laid - no private closes - when its token lay power is used > * Pfb - Pfalzbahn [Tile & Token] > > Location: L6 (yellow double cities) > Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player > > Tile lay: > tiles - all available (green phase only) when - tile lay step (optional rule: also after "buy trains" step) > extra - yes > connected - no free - no (however there is no cost on L6 anyway) > reserved - no > > Token lay: when - token lay step! > Remark: station marker of BA has to be laid first [german rules 2nd ed] > [optional: only in Token Lay phase / Rick Westermann supplemental rule] > extra - yes > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no > requires tile laid - yes [german rules 2nd ed] > private closes - when its token lay power is used * OBB: Location: M15, M17 Ownership: available to all major companies of owning player Tile lay: tiles - all available when - tile lay step extra - yes connected - no free - yes reserved - no private closes - when there are tiles on both hexes, no matter how they got there! > *** 1856 > > * W&SR - Waterloo & Saugeen Railway [Tile & Token] > > Location: I12 (yellow double cities) > > Ownership: only available to owning company > > Tile lay: > tile - 59 (not reserved) > when - in Tile Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - no (however there is no cost on I12 anyway) > reserved - yes > > Token lay: > when - in Token Lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - yes > reserved - no > requires tile laid - no [Lou Jerkich rules clarification] > Remark: owner tile laying company chooses token location This doesn't need to be said. Laying a tile in a hex that has a token but no track is an upgrade - the person laying the tile chooses which token goes where, subject to connectivity. requires tile laid - no private closes - at end of turn in which either power is used > > *** 18GA > > * W&S - Waycross & Southern [Token only] > > Token lay: > when - in Token lay phase > extra - no > connected - no > free - yes reserved - yes (as I define the term above) > > Remark: Bug in Rails: Allows Special tile lay > > > *** 18Kaas > > * D&H - identical to 1830/D&H, except location = K16 *** 1837 (each of the 7 mountain companies) Location: per each private Ownership: available to all major, minor, and coal companies of owning player Tile lay: tiles - all available when - tile lay step extra - no connected - yes free - yes reserved - yes (changes to "no" when 3 train is purchased) private closes - never |