From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2014-09-05 00:55:38
|
On 2014-09-04 05:06, Dr. Martin Brumm wrote: > the private companies in 1837 have the power to block access to their > hexes to anyone but the owner and the companies that the owner is > controlling, without the companies having to buy in the privates. This is wrong in two respects. (1) 1837's privates (AKA mountain companies) can never be bought in by other companies [Rule II]. You use their power as in 1835, simply by being the president of both the private and the track-laying company that will benefit (which need not be a major). This may be done in any phase of the game (until the purchase of the first 5-train, which closes all privates) [Rule V.14]. Using a private company's power does not close the private [Rule II.1]. (2) Private companies do indeed initially block tile-laying in their hexes by any company whose president is not the owner of the private. This restriction ends upon the purchase of the first 3-train. After that time, other players' companies may lay tiles in the private company's hex but doing so will cost them 110K [Rule V.14]. |