From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2014-03-07 03:38:42
|
On 2014-03-06 12:52, I wrote: > I started this game to discover if the OBB tile-lay issues in 1.7.12 > had been fixed, but I didn't get that far. I tried to resume this game from the save file and discovered it hangs. I should probably describe those OBB issues, too, because I haven't seen them discussed here and someone will ask. (1) In 1.7.12, a major company whose president owns the OBB is absolutely not allowed to lay tiles on both of the OBB locations in a single turn. The comments in the code show that the author knew this was wrong, but was making a quick-fix. But the rule should be, the OBB's *power* cannot be used to lay tiles on both those locations in a single turn. The player ought to be allowed to lay them both in one turn, though, if at least one of them is connected to a token of the major company, so that the OBB's power doesn't have to be used for both. (There's no need to ask the player whether he intends to use the OBB's power -- just make sure that at least one of the tiles would have been a legal play without the OBB, and then make only one of them give him an "extra" tile lay.) (2) The OBB is supposed to close -- automatically and unconditionally -- whenever both of its hexes have tiles on them. It doesn't matter who lays the tiles, much less whether or not OBB's power was used to lay them. In 1.7.12 this does not seem to happen unless OBB's power was used. |