From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2012-06-13 18:09:13
|
On 2012-06-12 04:46, Mike Bourke wrote: > However, there are some games (I forget which) that specifically prohibit > the laying of railheads other than the home railhead unless you are > connected by track to that location. I remember this because one of the > things that made 1835 so distinctive (relative to the other 18xx games) was > that you could lay a rail head anywhere, it was only a question of the > distance from your home base. To my knowledge this is not true and has never been true. All games require a track connection for non-home tokens unless you are using an explicit special power (D&H, Pfalz, NF, or the like). On 2012-06-13 10:38, Stefan Frey wrote: > ** Rules on D&H in 1830: > I re-read the 1830 rules on D&H they seem to be pretty clear that the > tile laying step is the condition for the token lay of D&H (so we played > that correctly many years ago). > > In Steve Thomas rules clarification it also addresses that this creates > the ambiguity what happens if the tile has been laid already, but does > not present a preferred answer (due to the building costs it is unlikely > to happen anyway). The further suggestion is that the > token laying right is lost if it is not executed immediately after the > tile laying property. This seems to me a silly argument because no one would want to lay the token without the tile if the private confers both abilities. But I would rule that they are separable powers just to avoid the silliness of that "further suggestion," so if someone else has laid the tile you can still place the token (and the private closes when it has been used to lay the token and the tile has been laid by anybody). |