From: Stefan F. <ste...@we...> - 2012-06-13 17:38:31
|
Mike: You are right laying the home token was always the exception to the case. However I was thinking about those cases where a special property allowed the laying an unconnected token. ** Rules on D&H in 1830: I re-read the 1830 rules on D&H they seem to be pretty clear that the tile laying step is the condition for the token lay of D&H (so we played that correctly many years ago). In Steve Thomas rules clarification it also addresses that this creates the ambiguity what happens if the tile has been laid already, but does not present a preferred answer (due to the building costs it is unlikely to happen anyway). The further suggestion is that the token laying right is lost if it is not executed immediately after the tile laying property. ** Rails implementation: Both D&H rights are implemented as being independent. * It is possible to lay the token without laying the tile first. * It is possible to lay the tile and the token later. In my view the implementation does not confirm to the rules, however this is only missing rules enforcement, thus it allows illegal actions, it does not prevent allowed actions. So the best workaround is mentioning in the limitations section of 1830. Stefan On 06/12/2012 01:46 PM, Mike Bourke wrote: >> Most likely there is no rule that is generally illegal to lay the token >> without a tile (for those cases when there is no connectivity requirement). > >> However I do not remember by heart if there is any 18xx rule-set which >> explicitly allows this (have not played 18GA yet). > > It's easy to demonstrate that this is explicitly possible by considering the > home location of the Erie in 1830. It is a double city with no inbuilt > track. Therefore, until green tiles become available, it cannot connect with > anything, but there is no rule that prevents launching the company (and > placing a railhead) prior to green tiles. It's a silly move, but not am > illegal one. > > However, there are some games (I forget which) that specifically prohibit > the laying of railheads other than the home railhead unless you are > connected by track to that location. I remember this because one of the > things that made 1835 so distinctive (relative to the other 18xx games) was > that you could lay a rail head anywhere, it was only a question of the > distance from your home base. > > Mike Bourke > Campaign Mastery http://www.campaignmastery.com > Co-author, Assassin's Amulet http://www.legaciescampaignsetting.com > > > > --- > avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean. > Virus Database (VPS): 120611-1, 12/06/2012 > Tested on: 12/06/2012 9:46:02 PM > avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2012 AVAST Software. > http://www.avast.com > > > > > ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ > Live Security Virtual Conference > Exclusive live event will cover all the ways today's security and > threat landscape has changed and how IT managers can respond. Discussions > will include endpoint security, mobile security and the latest in malware > threats. http://www.accelacomm.com/jaw/sfrnl04242012/114/50122263/ > _______________________________________________ > Rails-devel mailing list > Rai...@li... > https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/rails-devel |