From: Mike B. <com...@ip...> - 2012-06-12 11:46:36
|
>Most likely there is no rule that is generally illegal to lay the token >without a tile (for those cases when there is no connectivity requirement). >However I do not remember by heart if there is any 18xx rule-set which >explicitly allows this (have not played 18GA yet). It's easy to demonstrate that this is explicitly possible by considering the home location of the Erie in 1830. It is a double city with no inbuilt track. Therefore, until green tiles become available, it cannot connect with anything, but there is no rule that prevents launching the company (and placing a railhead) prior to green tiles. It's a silly move, but not am illegal one. However, there are some games (I forget which) that specifically prohibit the laying of railheads other than the home railhead unless you are connected by track to that location. I remember this because one of the things that made 1835 so distinctive (relative to the other 18xx games) was that you could lay a rail head anywhere, it was only a question of the distance from your home base. Mike Bourke Campaign Mastery http://www.campaignmastery.com Co-author, Assassin's Amulet http://www.legaciescampaignsetting.com --- avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean. Virus Database (VPS): 120611-1, 12/06/2012 Tested on: 12/06/2012 9:46:02 PM avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2012 AVAST Software. http://www.avast.com |