From: John D. G. <jd...@di...> - 2012-06-12 02:19:47
|
On 2012-06-11 10:47, Stefan Frey wrote: >> Now it is important for the 1st edition/English rules interpretation if >> a tile laying action of a player who does not own the Pfalzbahn is >> enough to fit the condition stated above. If so the two conditions are >> identical, if we assume that the tile has to be laid before a token can >> be laid. >> >> However interestingly the rules state that the Pfalzbahn owner is >> allowed to "... lay a station marker onto this hex". This could be read >> as it might even be possible to lay a token before the green tile is laid. I don't think it is generally illegal (in 1835 or in most 18xx games) to lay a token on a city hex with no track without placing a tile first. Indeed, the Waycross & Southern private company power in 18GA is meant to be used this way (since it lets you "teleport in" a token, but you have to wait until the tile lay phase of the next turn before you can start building track from that token). I don't think that question really matters here, though. Even without using the Pfalz, it's usually quite possible for other players to lay a green tile in Ludwigshafen/Mannheim before BA first operates, and if they don't, BA will. The question then becomes, should the Pfalz owner be stuck with the private until the first 5-train purchase just because someone else laid a tile there? I think not, and I offer the OBB (which closes when *anybody* lays tiles on both of its hexes) as an example in support of that position. On 2012-06-11 12:36, Erik Vos wrote: > Practice tells, that if a rule can be interpreted in different ways, then > that is exactly what is going to happen. > For that reason, I would prefer to go for the manual closure workaround, > rather than trying to satisfy all tastes by adding options. Makes sense. |