From: Erik V. <eri...@xs...> - 2012-06-03 19:13:57
|
How Rails does work is as follows: - if a share has been bought in the same turn, the maximum number of shares that can be sold is unconditionally reduced by one. How Rails should work is open for discussion here, but given Steve Thomas' clarification I think the above should be reformulated as follows: - if a share has been bought in the same turn, at least one share should remain after selling. So the number of sellable shares is only reduced by one if the number of remaining shares would otherwise become zero. If we agree that this interpretation is correct, I'll change the code accordingly. Erik. > -----Original Message----- > From: Stefan Frey [mailto:ste...@we...] > Sent: Sunday, June 03, 2012 5:47 PM > To: Development list for Rails: an 18xx game; Ing. Antonio Baracca > Subject: [Rails-devel] Fwd: 18xx Bug report > > A bug reported on 1856: > Selling a 10% share which was immediately bought in that turn. > > However the player has the presidency, thus he should able to sell off the > partial 10% from the presidency instead (if I understand Steve Thomas rule > clarification correctly). > > If I remember we had this case previously discussed, however was not able > to find it quickly. > > Previous Off-list conversion see below. > > Most likely Erik knows best how the current implementation should work. > > Stefan > > > On 06/03/2012 05:28 PM, Ing. Antonio Baracca wrote: > > No, Rails doesn't handle it in the right way. > > Fontana had 4 GW > > He bought the fifth share > > And wish to sell 3 GW > > > > All these moves are correct but rails just let him sell 2 shares, in my > > opinion it does confusion with the president share. > > Bye > > Antonio > > > > > > Il giorno 03/giu/2012, alle ore 16:50, Stefan Frey ha scritto: > > > >> Antonio: > >> just to be sure: > >> Do we agree that Rails handled that case correctly? > >> > >> In the example save file you have sent, Fontana just bought the 3rd >> > share of GW, so he is not able to sell 3 shares immediately. > >> He has to wait for one turn and then he is able to do so (and Rails >> > allows it then). > >> > >> Cheers, > >> Stefan > >> > >> > >> On 06/03/2012 04:06 PM, Ing. Antonio Baracca wrote: > >>> Hello Stefan, thanks for your fast replay, >>> it's true that in 1856 you > cannot sell a share you just bought, but if >>> you hold some shares of a > corporation and you buy another one, it's >>> allowed to sell one or more > shares of the ones you had before. > >>> > >>> For example: > >>> if you had 2 shares and you buy one more, in any case you can sell only > >>> the two shares you owned in the same move, you can sell the third one > >>> when it's your turn again in the same stock round. > >>> Greetings > >>> Antonio > >>> > >>> > >>> > >>> Il giorno 03/giu/2012, alle ore 10:54, Stefan Frey ha scritto: > >>> > >>>> Hello Antonio, > >>>> I am not the 1856 expert, however on first glance it looks like that the > >>>> rule that you cannot sell a share in the same StockRound turn that you > >>>> just bought? > >>>> > >>>> But most likely I have overlooked something, because I only played > >>>> 1856 only once. > >>>> > >>>> Good to hear that the Italian community embraces Rails now as well > >>>> Enjoy your PBEM competition! > >>>> Kind regards, > >>>> Stefan > >>>> > >>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> > >>>>> Ing. Antonio Baracca > >>>>> ant...@gm... <mailto:ant...@gm...> >>>>> > <mailto:ant...@gm...> >>>>> >>>>> >>>>> >>>> >>> >>> > >>> Ing. Antonio Baracca >>> ant...@gm... > <mailto:ant...@gm...> >>> <mailto:ant...@gm...> |