From: Chris S. <chr...@gm...> - 2010-06-14 14:37:01
|
Actually, for a route terminating in Hamburg, the relevant question would be "does the route intersect one of your own tokens elsewhere?" If yes, you can terminate in any Hamburg city circle. If the only owner station token on the route is in Hamburg, then it would matter which side of the river it was on and which path was taken to reach it. -- Chris Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail. On Fri, Jun 11, 2010 at 1:57 AM, Phil Davies <de...@gm...> wrote: > The tile encyclopaedia does point this out as a source of contention > amongst players: > > http://www.18xx.net/tiles/e221.htm > > ' (It is unclear, and a source of argument, whether this reduction > applies to a run that begins or ends in Hamburg. If the answer is > yes, then it makes a difference which side of the river your company's > station marker is on. If the answer is no, it does not make any > difference.)' > > I've not played the physical game but the rules reading would imply > that if for any reason your train cross that central 'ferry' symbol > representing the river then Hamburg is 10 less. For a route > terminating in Hamburg this is irrelevant since you can always > terminate at another corps station, but for starting out it would be > important where your token was placed. > > On 11 June 2010 05:43, John David Galt <jd...@di...> > wrote: > > Stefan Frey (web.de) wrote: > >> -> Very minor, but a difficult one: > >> The (chromatic) rule in 1835 for the -10 malus to cross the Elbe in > Hamburg is > >> not complete: Currently only the malus is only applied if the train runs > >> through Hamburg and crosses the Elbe. There is a second part that is > not yet > >> implemented: If a train starts from a base token in Hamburg it is > important > >> if that base token lays south (Harburg) or north (City or Altona) the > river > >> Elbe. > > > > If that is the prevailing view in Germany, then it ought to be brought up > for > > discussion on the 18xx list. Because every group I've played 1835 with > in the > > US and Canada plays that it never matters which side of the Elbe your > token is > > on: if Hamburg is the beginning or end of your route, you don't suffer > the > > penalty. > > > > > ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ > > ThinkGeek and WIRED's GeekDad team up for the Ultimate > > GeekDad Father's Day Giveaway. ONE MASSIVE PRIZE to the > > lucky parental unit. See the prize list and enter to win: > > http://p.sf.net/sfu/thinkgeek-promo > > _______________________________________________ > > Rails-devel mailing list > > Rai...@li... > > https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/rails-devel > > > > > ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ > ThinkGeek and WIRED's GeekDad team up for the Ultimate > GeekDad Father's Day Giveaway. ONE MASSIVE PRIZE to the > lucky parental unit. See the prize list and enter to win: > http://p.sf.net/sfu/thinkgeek-promo > _______________________________________________ > Rails-devel mailing list > Rai...@li... > https://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/rails-devel > |