From: Aliza P. <ali...@gm...> - 2010-03-11 20:58:57
|
(1) I hold one GW share. IPO price is $100, current price is $150. On my stock turn, I buy one GW and then sell two, spending $100 and receiving $300. This kind of thing is legal in 1830 but not in 1856. (2) Imagine that we are sitting at my kitchen table playing 1856. With my left hand I purchase a GW share. While I am still holding that share in my left hand, with my right hand I sell one or more GW shares that are sitting on the table in front of me. This is legal in 1856. Does that make the distinction clear? (There's a further subtle distinction: If the only certificate in front of me is the 20% President's certificate, I can buy a share with my left hand, and then with my right hand peel off one imaginary share from the President's cert and sell that, letting the 10% in front of me and the 10% I just bought magically rejoin into the President's cert. This is not obvious from the text of the rules but has been clarified in addenda.) The net effect is fairly important: If I am trying to take advantage of arbitrage opportunity, or just to trash another player's stock prices, I need to assess the risk that a share I buy may be worth less than what I paid for it by the time I have an opportunity to sell it. - Aliza On Thu, Mar 11, 2010 at 11:38 AM, Chris Shaffer <chr...@gm...> wrote: >> I understand the quoted rule from the rulebook that I am only >> allowed to sell >> the number of shares which I had in my portfolio at the beginning of >> my turn >> and not the one I just bought. Next turn I am free to sell that >> additional >> share/certificate. > > Correct. You might more properly say "the number and type of shares..." > > -- > Chris Shaffer > |