From: Rick W. <wes...@pu...> - 2010-01-19 01:27:49
|
On Jan 18, 2010, at 8:13 PM, Mark Smith wrote: > John, > > Maybe this was changed in 1830 Rule Set, but my copy (dated 2/86 on > the back) states in Section 21.0, Paragraph 3: > > Trains may be either purchased from the Bank at face value or from > another corporation at any mutually agreed price. Whenever a train > is purchased from one Corporation by another the transfer takes > place in the purchaser's turn. Corporations which have the same > president may sell trains to each other for at least $1. > > No where in this does it state about this only being allowed after > 3 Trains are bought. In Section 22.0 Stages of the Game, just after > this, it does not mention anything about train purchases allowed > (or not allowed) in any stage/phase. > > Mark After looking at my copy of 1830 I agree with Mark. Of course the 1830 rules are not known for their clarity. However the "18xx rules difference list" (maintained by Keith T.) also does not support John's contention that trains can be purchased from other companies only after the first 3 train has been purchased. I do not have my copies of '56 and '70 handy to check them. In any case 'rails' is only a playing aid. Certainly the players themselves can restrict such purchases if they believe that rules forbid them. -- Rick |