From: Erik V. <eri...@hc...> - 2008-11-30 14:46:32
|
> I believe that when it's time to place a company's home token on the > board (at the start of its first operating turn in most games, but in > the stock round in 1835), the token is placed immediately > even if there > is no tile and no track in the hex. In the case of the Erie > or Badische, > if there is no tile, then there is no need to ask the company > owner where > the token goes, since the two unconnected station circles in > that hex are > indistinguishable. Exactly, and the rules of both 1830 and 1835 completely fail to understand that, when these state that "a home token once played cannot be moved". > But when one of those hexes -- or any OO, XX, or similar hex that > already has at least one token -- gets a tile laid on it, THEN whoever > lays the tile (NOT necessarily the company owner!) should be > prompted to > choose which station gets which token. That is how I have implemented it, but I'm having second thoughts about that. In fact I had intended to let the president make the choice, but I overlooked the possibility that another player might update such a OO or XX hex to green. This is rather unlikely, though, so perhaps I'll leave it as is. The rules are completely silent about this question. > I have always played that if these companies have no home > tile and don't > bother to lay it on their first turn, they give up their right to make > this choice. I would rule differently, but I don't know if there is any basis to settle this dispute. Has there ever be a ruling on this matter? Erik. |