Menu

Maven

2010-04-19
2023-05-12
  • Magne Nordtveit

Magne Nordtveit - 2010-04-19

First of all, great product. I use it everyday!

Second, is there any chance you are going to migrate off of Ant and to maven?

I have made some patches to the Rachota project (I am not sure if any of them are accepted or not, but thats not the point :-)), and I keep finding small things that bothers me to the extent that I open the project and fix it. Most of which are related to running Rachota in  a multiple monitor environment and lack of ability to match dates to days of the week ;-)

The reason for porting to Maven, is its awesome version scheme, and ease of use. I am a JAVA dev myself, and switching from Ant to Maven is one of those things I wish we had done before. Its highly customizable, and solves allot when it comes to versions and dependencies.

Love your application, keep up the great work!

Magne

• Jiri Kovalsky

Jiri Kovalsky - 2010-04-19

Hi Magne,

first of all thanks for your nice words about Rachota Timetracker!

However, as for the migration from Ant to Maven I don't see any urgent need for that right now. Ant fully satisfies all my building needs and I try to avoid any complex dependencies on 3rd party libraries on purpose. Of course Rachota could have for example sexy 3D graphs but bundling necessary JARs would triple its size. Fortunately, you can export sources and create Maven based project manually via e.g. NetBeans IDE.

Are you interested in contributing your changes to Rachota project? At least according to the CDDL license terms you should do that. If you send me CVS diff(s) I will review them and integrate into the codebase. Thanks!

Thank you for your feedback!
    -Jirka

• Magne Nordtveit

Are you interested in contributing your changes to Rachota project? At least according to the CDDL license terms you should do that. If you send me CVS diff(s) I will review them and integrate into the codebase. Thanks!