makeHTMLTags

2005-09-12
2013-05-14
  • Steve Young

Steve Young - 2005-09-12

Hi, in another forum you (PAUL) gave a small example for parsing HTML and making changes to url's. And in response to another person's comment about what would happen if the "href" came after other attributes you suggested using "makeHTMLTags". I'm pretty new at this stuff so I was wondering if you could give me an example using makeHTMLTags for something like this. Lets say I want to go to an arbitrary site (www.yahoo.com) and go through all the links on the page and make changes to each one but at the same time accounting for the possiblity of hrefs coming after other attributes. Thanks a lot.

-Steve

• Paul McGuire

Paul McGuire - 2005-09-12

Steve -

Good question, I put a bit of magic into makeHTMLTags and makeXMLTags, and never really described them very well, so a sample program should help some.  And, in researching this question, you helped me uncover a bug or two in makeHTMLTags, so I'll be releasing a new pyparsing version in the next day or two (I had a new version pretty much ready to go, but no urgency in putting it out - now I have a reason!).

Here's a simple test program to access all the <A HREF="xxx">lskklsjflj</A> patterns on a web site, and list out a cross-reference of labels to URL:

===================
      import urllib
      from pyparsing import *

anchorStart,anchorEnd = makeHTMLTags("a")

# read HTML from a web page
      serverListPage = urllib.urlopen( "http://www.yahoo.com" )
      htmlText = serverListPage.read()
      serverListPage.close()

anchor = anchorStart + SkipTo(anchorEnd).setResultsName("body") + anchorEnd

print htmlText
      print

for tokens,start,end in anchor.scanString(htmlText):
          print tokens.body,"->",tokens.startA.href
          print
      ===================