LaTeX parsing

Tim Arnold
2005-12-06
2013-05-14
  • Tim Arnold

Tim Arnold - 2005-12-06

Hi, I'm starting a project to translate one set of LaTeX tags to a different set. I don't need a fully defined parser, so I'm using scanString to get the bits I need.

What I don't understand is how to handle the recursion. For example,<pre>
    \subidx{stuff that may be \textbf{bold} or $math$}
    </pre>
    I want the complete argument of \subidx and I don't care what's in it, but I'm not getting anywhere. I'm very new to parsing (mainly started this morning), but from viewing the docs and this forum, I'm pretty sure pyparsing is exactly what I need.

I've tried the Forward specification and I kind of understand what's going on with it, but if there's any advice you can give me I'd sure appreciate it.

thanks!

• Tim Arnold

Tim Arnold - 2005-12-07

following up my own post after playing a little.
      Here's my code, and it *seems* ok, but if it looks weird or wrong somehow, please let me know.
      thanks,
      --------------
      from pyparsing import *

sbji   = Keyword('\\sbji')
      bgroup = Literal('{')
      egroup = Literal('}')
      arg    = Forward()
      arg    << bgroup + OneOrMore(Word(alphas+'\\')) + egroup
      subidx = (sbji +
          Group(
              bgroup.suppress() +
                  OneOrMore(Word(alphas+'\\')|arg) +
              egroup.suppress()
          ))
      print [(t,s,e) for t,s,e in subidx.scanString(r'\sbji{hey {\bf you}\textit{me} there}')]

• Paul McGuire

Paul McGuire - 2005-12-07

Tim -

(Sorry for the delayed response - I'm traveling on business at the moment.)

Thanks for posting your first attempts.  In general, LaTeX parsing is tricky - see John Hunter's work with mathplotlib, the mathtext module parses LaTeX using pyparsing.  Also, here is a link to an archived thread on comp.compilers USENET group discussion this problem (http://compilers.iecc.com/comparch/article/04-03-099).