Menu

metric too many decimal places

Help
2017-03-25
2017-04-24
  • snarkhunter

snarkhunter - 2017-03-25

I'm a bit new to PyCAM and excited be how well it works in english. Metric is giving me a problem. PyCAM seems to post dimensions to four places after the decimal (X.XXXX) in english and metric. My Haas mill exepts four decimal places in english, but only three decimal places in metric. Is there a setting to controll the number of decimal places, if so where? If there is no setting for this, can you advise an other technique. Right now I convert to english but prefer metric. Thank you.

• Lars

Lars - 2017-03-25

Thank your for your detailed explanation.
    But I am still not sure, if I understand your specific problem :)
    Thus: which specific change do you have in mind?

• snarkhunter

snarkhunter - 2017-03-25

In G21 metric PyCAM will post all positions to the fourth decimal place (ex. X34.6823 Y102.3358). The Haas machine I run,  when in G21 metric needs a three  place resalution to recognize the number as valid (ex. X34.682 Y102.336). In G20 english the mill recognizes a four place decimal as a valid number. How can I change the resolution of the numbers that PyCAM posts?

• Lars

Lars - 2017-03-26

Ah - ok. What a tricky machine!
    I would recommend to file a bug report to its vendor.

In pycam you can try to reduce the "Step Precision" in the GCode settings. It defaults to 0.0001. If you reduce it to 0.001, then all values should be formatted with only three digits.

• snarkhunter

snarkhunter - 2017-03-26

That was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you very much.

• snarkhunter

snarkhunter - 2017-04-24

I recently loaded PyCAM 0.6-svn. I am unable to find this setting in the new PyCAM.

• Lars

Lars - 2017-04-25

This version name sounds weird.
    Please try one of the latest releases: https://github.com/SebKuzminsky/pycam/releases

• snarkhunter

snarkhunter - 2017-04-26