waterline strategy mills the inside of the shape instead of the outside

Help
moshel
2017-10-05
2017-10-06
  • moshel

moshel - 2017-10-05

Hi,

I am pretty new to this so it's probably something stupid.
    I have created a shape in openscad, exported it as stl opened it in pycam 0.61 and after some hickups (collision model was not selected so it ignored my model) it produced the right tool path for the slice removal process.
    However, the part is roundish so i wanted a waterline pass as well. when i tried to do that, the toolpath milled inside the part, not outside.

this is the model in audodesk viewer (i don't think it allows downloads)
    this is the stl

What am I doing wrong?

Thank,
    Moshe

• Lars

Lars - 2017-10-05

Hi Moshe,

I am afraid, that you stumbled upon the instability of the waterline algorithm of pycam. I do not see a good way to fix that code (it should probably be replaced with an external library).

I could imagine, that your model contains some interesting "interior" triangles, that could confuse the waterline algorithm. Thus maybe it could help to "simplify" the model with a 3D modelling program (I am not aware of details in this area - this is just a wild guess).

If this does not help, then you are probably forced to use a working grid with small steps (wasting a lot of time).

Cheers,
    Lars

• moshel

moshel - 2017-10-06

Thanks lars... I was afraid this was the case. The docs mention a new, experimental waterline algorithm. Is there a way to try it?
    I'll try simplifying the object. Maybe remove the central hole...
    On the bright side, pycam is really the only cam i tried that can even surface this shape... So well done!
    Cheers,
    Moshe

• Lars

Lars - 2017-10-06

The docs mention a new, experimental waterline algorithm. Is there a way to try it?