Menu

Feature Requests

Anonymous
2011-10-10
2013-03-08
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2011-10-10

I'm just getting started with DIY CNC, but there'a  couple features I'd love to see as part of the gcode export:
      - commenting style:  thus far I've seen different firmwares supporting (comment), "comment", and ;comment.  It'd be nice to be able to specify start and stop delimiters to comments
      - command termination options:  some particularly finicky firmware I've come across requires commands to be terminated with " ;" (a space and semicolon).
      - G movement modal command group:  I've noticed that pycam emits modal G0/G1 commands, e.g.:
    G1 X1
      Y2
      Z3
      X2
    Given the repeat of the X parameter, I assume this is "G1 X1; G1 Y2; G2 Z3; G1 X2" and not  "G1 X1 Y2 Z3; G1 X2".  Other firmware expects there to be an explicit command code per line, instead of relying on the modality of G0 and G1.

These wouldn't seem too difficult to add … although I'm also in the process of modifying various bits of firmware to be less picky.

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2011-10-19

After using pycam for a few mills with a few materials now, there's some other features I'd love to see:
      - Make safety distance, and other setting in prefs, project-based!  This doesn't appear to be stored per-configuration, which I'm storing per-project, which means I have to adjust it for every milling.
      - Separate z and x-y feed rates. 
      - Materials pane:  the feed rate of a given mill changes for different materials, as well as maximum step.  I'd vote for either adding a list of feed rates (and max step) per tool per material, else a materials pane that allows you to specify scaling factors for feed rates and max steps.
      - UI issue:  <return> appears to save changes values, which I occasionally don't hit when changing values.  Perhaps just a "save" button at the bottom of various panes?