Need your opinion - how to visualize

Help
mrbeast87
2010-06-07
2013-05-29
  •  mrbeast87

mrbeast87 - 2010-06-07

Hi,
    I'm a student, and currently I'm developing an application that visualizes a user's music library.
    My data is all the artists, and the similarity between each of them.

What I'm doing now is to represent this information in a graph, where each artist is connected to another artist if they are similar.
    My problem is that this way, most artists will be linked together, creating a big mess.

I've tried changing the size of the edges, but as each node is connected to many other nodes, the result is not very good.

I think the ideal solution would be mapping each artist to coordinates x and y. The similar artists would form a cluster. And if the artists weren't similar, they would be far apart.

I've tried everything, but I can't achieve the visualization I wanted… Does anyone have an idea on how I can use prefuse to visualize what I want?

Thanks in advance.

• Björn Kruse

Björn Kruse - 2010-06-08

Hi,

I have a few ideas.

As you said, visualize connections between artists as edges. For ease of discussion, I assume you have the strength of the connection between two artists available in form of a numerical value in a datafield of the edge. (For example Artists A and B are loosely coupled (strength 5) and Artists B and C are strongly couple (strengt 95) or similar. Strength can be 0 to 100.)
    1)
    Color the edges according to the strength value? Nearly transparent/invisible is loosely coupled, full/dark colored is strongly coupled.

2)
    Hide edges (or even artists) which have strength<50.
    You can even bind this "strength<50" to a slider/etc, so the user can configure this.
    (Strength < 0 will show all edges, Strength < 100 will hide all; I guess you got the idea)
    People probably just want to see the ~5-10 strongest connections?

3)