Fallback_transport

harrytk
2011-09-19
2013-01-23
  • harrytk

harrytk - 2011-09-19

Hi,

I am new to postfixadmin and have just done my first installation. My problem is that I would like mail for unknown local users to be relayed to another server, instead of being being rejected. I have done this before with unix accounts using the fallback_transport feature of postfix. How can I achieve the same in postfixadmin where the email accounts are not unix accounts?

I have tried the following without success:

local_recipient_maps = $virtual_mailbox_maps
    fallback_transport = smtp:another.server.com

The error I get is:

550 5.1.1 <user@domain.com>: Recipient address rejected: User unknown in virtual mailbox table

• Charles

Charles - 2011-09-19

Unless you have a really good reason, this is a really bad idea, because it totally BREAKS the SMTP protocol.

NOT rejecting invalid recipients means that people who typo addresses to your VALID users will never know their intended recipient didn't get the message. It is also *much* more resource expensive to NOT reject them.

What is your *reason* for wanting to do this?

• harrytk

harrytk - 2011-09-19

The reason I'm doing this is because email users on this particular domain are distributed across two servers. There is a central office server and a branch office server. When users at the branch server send mail amongst themselves, the mail is delivered locally on the branch server. If a branch office user sends a mail to a central office user, the branch office server checks that the recipient is not a local user, and then forwards to the central office server.

I have had this working fine on a basic postix setup wit out postfixadmin. It is the fact the the mailboxes on a postfixadmin setup are mysql lookups that has me stumped.

• Charles

Charles - 2011-09-19