Help creating grid.

Help
Bio
2009-01-19
2013-03-15
  • Bio

Bio - 2009-01-19

I'm new to PLplot. Previously I use GNUplot but then had problem with plotting speed when plotting too many points. Anyway, can anyone tell me if PLplot is the right tool to go?

Criteria:
    - one window with 4 subplot. Top half plot one 3-D plot and bottom half has three 2-D plots.
    - Plot 10,000 - 20,000 points (I don't need to plot surface or lines, just points).
    - has to be fast (My program will keep on refreshing the plot).

My next question is that I tried to create a 3D plot in PLplot, but I want to have grids on the x-z and y-z plane, just like example 11 in PLplot website: http://plplot.sourceforge.net/examples.php?demo=11.
    My Understanding is that I need to use add a letter 'd' inside the function plbox3(..), but the grid will only be shown after we call either plot3d(...) or plmesh(...). The thing is I only want to plot a point in the 3D plane so I only use plpoin3(...). Do I miss something? Is there an easy way to plot grid? Is there another way to get what I want?

thanks so much for the help.

• Werner Smekal

Werner Smekal - 2009-01-19

Hi,

first I would urge to ask your questions on the mailing list, since the forum is not often used by developers, except maybe me. Therefore, ask your questions again on the plplot-general mailing list.